FeaturesFormula 1

Reflections Of The 2009 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix

665472427_erfaa-xl

The 2009 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix lived up expectations with its thrills spills and of course, drama. Unfortunately for us here at Zerotohundred, we were a little too caught up to attend this year’s race but with one of the most glamourous and glitziest race in the Formula One calendar happening so close to us, it was impossible not to have someone attend it and bring us  some sort of coverage.

So it had to happen, we had to send somebody and Tom knew just the person. Wei Li was tasked with the duty of having a good time and bringing us the best of the 2009 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix. You have already seen his pictures and now, posted after the jump, is his review.

2009 Singapore GP (68)2009 Singapore GP (83)2009 Singapore GP (72)2009 Singapore GP (69)2009 Singapore GP (4)2009 Singapore GP (74)

2009-singapore-gp-2

Wars Wars Wars. There are wars like the Gulf War and the War on Terror, or even wars like the Chili Crab and Chicken Rice War. But is it war out there on the racing track? Eddie Irvine certainly thinks it is when he commented on the news of Renault’s cynical race strategy at last year’s Singapore Grand Prix.

And thus the 2009 Singapore Grand Prix takes place in a bonafide warzone : the Marina Bay Circuit, the foodcourts and seafood restaurants of Singapore. Thanks Tom for sending me into a warzone, hope I can get out of Singapore without a giant crab claw stuck to my backside.

2009-singapore-gp-24

So what did you find out before the race weekend? Besides Miss Singapore World getting herself into the headlines again, we now know that Nelson Piquet, Jnr crashed his Renault with full expertise rather than the lack of it. The resulting decision of the World Motorsport Council days before the 2009 Singapore Grand Prix had sponsors pulling out of the Renault F1 Team before you can say Flavio Briatore. Never had the race mechanics worked overtime to pull off team sponsors’ logos instead of putting on vital updated parts. And for Flavio’s sake, I hope his supermodel girlfriends still answers his phone calls.

2009-singapore-gp-84

War or no war, the 2009 Singapore Grand Prix is certainly a spectacle. Sure there are the usual grumbles that there wasn’t enough overtaking, but the race organisers cannot have any say over the malaise of the sport.

What the race organizers can do, they did it amazingly well. The logistics is what you would expect from the country that has one of the most comprehensive road pricing system in the world. Getting to and out of the track is hassle free. The policeman and ushers were friendly and helpful, information were readily available and all the relevant signs were well marked. Of course, being a city circuit has it’s advantages with all the public transport system already in place being well utilized.

2009-singapore-gp-29

Off track, the city state was buzzing. Concerts, parties, and gala functions aplenty. You can feel vibes everywhere you go. Again, being a city circuit helps with people without a ticket still being to savour the sound of 18,000 rpm while having a beer at a drinking hole trackside.

Before the Formula One showpiece race, even a little history was made when local Singapore racer, Ringo Chong, managed to win the Aston Martin Cup support race and got the Singapore national anthem played for the first time at the Marina Bay Circuit.

2009-singapore-gp-56

What of the race itself? Blunder, blooper, bungle; take your pick from the 3 B’s.

B1 : what was Sebastian Vettel thinking? The race was building up nicely to a good finish with Vettel chasing down Hamilton. The drive-through penalty he got for speeding in the pitlane put a stop to all that.

B2 : what was Nico Rosberg thinking? His error in straying over the white line exiting the pitlane earned him a drive-through penalty, his second place went up in smoke.

B3, the biggest B : what was Jaime Alguersuari thinking? He obviously flinched when staring down the barrel of the lollipop, pulling the refueler to the ground when he drove off without being told to do so.

2009-singapore-gp-71

Looking back, how did the 2009 Singapore Grand Prix measure up? The race? Unremarkable, with potential key moments spoilt by blunders. The atmosphere? Electric, with stars galore in town for the F1 Rocks concerts and even the reappearance of Nicole Scherzinger in Lewis Hamilton’s pit. The chicken rice and chili crab? No contest, we know who is the winner on this one……….

2009 Singapore GP (16)2009 Singapore GP (93)2009 Singapore GP (90)2009 Singapore GP (75)2009 Singapore GP (61)2009 Singapore GP (71)

Article Written by: Wei Li

I
  • I
    iskett
  • Oct 8, 2009
Firstly I think its stupid to classify vettel's speeding as a blunder.
Of course he switched to the speed limiter.The problem was probably from his electronics, not him. So yeah, asking what was vettel thinking is a silly question, obviously he was thinking of the race, nothing else..
And why is the coverage so late?
C
  • C
    cmtx
  • Oct 8, 2009
As a motorsports fan, i hope that the Singapore GP gets less and less coverage. Likewise Valencia, it is one heck of a boring race. It's not even racing; just a bunch of race cars going round and round hoping that they catch a break from a safety car. Really, Hermann Tilke should have stopped designing F1 tracks after Bahrain.

In fact i pity the Singaporeans. There's been a race for 10 years at Sepang but they missed it all - the days of Hakkinen, Schumacher, wet racing and more importantly, the sound of a V10 engine. Now most go to watch racing for the glamour? For Beyonce? What a waste...

Anyway, i was there last year with media access pass. It had vibe, but the 'racing' was not something i could stomach for another year. Of course, i declined to go again. Saw the race on tv instead, true enough, it was worse than last year.
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Oct 8, 2009
iskett, there was nothing wrong with Vettel's speed limiter electronics. It was vettel himself that was responsible.

From his viewpoint from inside the car, he never exceeded the speed limit. However the entry speed into the pit lane is measured by way of two sensors between two points. Average speed is measured after the car passes the two points. The issue is the entry is a curved piece of road. vettel would be fine if he followed the curve but instead he almost cut the curve, so the distance he travelled between the 2 points is shorter and thus the average speed reading registered over the speed limit.

Some are arguing that it is FIA's fault but to me it is Vettel's fault. Teams know exactly how track equipment work and vettel took a gamble which to me was not worth the risk.
T
  • T
    teamsleepnine
  • Oct 9, 2009
amtx;i agree!,singapore is all about glamour even one of singapore minister(or is it singapore gov tourism department director) said it to the press that its not about racing its all about glamour!!!
thankfully sepang got to have schumi,irvine,hakinen...
heck even damon hill(ok.he crash on the first lap,but still)!!!
drive around her!!
E
  • E
    eoj
  • Oct 9, 2009
Good write up !!! Now i feel like having some chicken rice or maybe chili crabs......
I
  • I
    iskett
  • Oct 11, 2009
Thanks A1Diablo for your explanation on the penalty. My bad then..
Still, my hope is still with vettel, he's such a great young talent!
D
  • D
    ddman
  • Oct 12, 2009
agree with cmtx, gp in singapore is so boring that the organisers need to create all kinds of side shows to pull in the crowd. Heard that the attendance was so poor this year that the organisers have to give out thousands over complimentary grand stand passes to the volunteers to fill the seats.
D