Features

More Pictures: JPM Berjaya Hills Time Challenge 2009

img_8991

Here are more pictures from the starting line at bukit tinggi courtesy of Lewis Fan from Europrojektz. The Novitec F430 above is said to be the star of the show apart from the super exclusive GT40, Countach, and tricked out Bentleys. For more discussions on the event, it’s in the forums

Here’s how the course look like on video (practice run):

IMG_9047IMG_9063IMG_9061IMG_9030IMG_9002IMG_9072

img_9019

img_9034

img_8995

img_9066

img_9033

IMG_9014IMG_9057IMG_9049IMG_9027IMG_9026IMG_8989IMG_9070

More pictures by syong888:

bukit-tinggi-jpm-berjaya-hills-2009-51

bukit-tinggi-jpm-berjaya-hills-2009-8

bukit-tinggi-jpm-berjaya-hills-2009-36

bukit-tinggi-jpm-berjaya-hills-2009-19

bukit-tinggi-jpm-berjaya-hills-2009-31

B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Oct 13, 2009
How unbecoming of zth.. You have the time to brand those pics with your logo but absolutely no courtesy to blur out the plates. I'm sure the owners would appreciate some privacy.

By now, with the increasing number of visits to zth, you guys should know what is right n what is a big nono.
G
  • G
    GTi
  • Oct 13, 2009
The cars run on public roads at a publicized event where ANYONE can go see and snap photos, etc... so is it really a big deal if the number plates can be seen here?
G
  • G
    GTi
  • Oct 13, 2009
oo yeah... if the owners really wanted privacy, they would have taken off their plates at the event or not participate at all... thats my 2 cents worth (btw i don't have zth shares)
L
  • L
    lightningfield
  • Oct 13, 2009
Hei this is an awesome coverage! the plate AGB11 on the bentley used to be on a Porsche Cayenne Gemballa biturbo.

http://zeblackmamba.blogspot.com/2009/03/behemoth.html
M
the porsche dun look like it got what it takes to drive a fast car.. SO SLOWWW!!
T
  • T
    The Yein
  • Oct 13, 2009
It's wide angle lens that's why it looks slow.
K
  • K
    Kowreck Corleone
  • Oct 13, 2009
I think my kancil can beat some of these supercars. One more thing, why did someone bring a flying spur? that a limo and this is a race. at least bring a conti gt speed.
C
  • C
    Crack at it!!!
  • Oct 13, 2009
Kowreck Corleone, if driving kancil....better keep your typing fingers to yourselfs.....cause the guys who drive this expensive cars can still correct their mistake when done during racing...because of the cars technology and engineering...as for you kancil....one mistake also sudah boleh tanam...so....
hahahahahahah!!!
J
  • J
    Janson911
  • Oct 13, 2009
All monsters!!!Damn like it!
Y
  • Y
    Yo
  • Oct 13, 2009
Seems like a great event. A good venue for a start. This sort of event should be organised more frequently and allow any other cars (not just the luxurious sports car) to join just for the fun of it, be it a time based run or so on.

As far as Im concerned, Im really interested to join for a touge or mountain course run but there isnt really a safe and controlled venue to go for and Ive got no exotic sport cars like the ones above. Ive seen some others going for touge late night or even in the early morning where there are still other road users which may be dangerous.
L
  • L
    luqae
  • Oct 13, 2009
this event cant be consider a race event, its just a show of exotic supercar...i bet if u bring those malaysia rally driver even with a 1.6,1.8 or 2.0 turbo machine can tapau this guy...just hope that motorsport sponsorship will not just focus on those guy who have a supercar. they are lots more potential event that need sponsorship and media review.
T
  • T
    The Yein
  • Oct 13, 2009
Errr.. this 'guy' in the video is an experienced racing driver...
Dont say what you dont know. Many of the supercars were driven by racing drivers like Marcus Chye, TJ Chin, Dominic Ang, Oh Kah Beng, Ferhad Mokhzani, Eric Yong, Farriz Fauzy, etc.
<strong>bizardo</strong>: watermarking the photos doesn't take any effort at all. removing the plates does. Who are you to even comment for the owners of the cars shot here when you're an anonymous without a proper email address?
<br />
<strong>metalheads</strong>: if you would find out more about the video, it was a practice run. <br /><br />

<strong>kowreck</strong>: nobody cares if your kancil can take these cars, really.<br />

<strong>luqae</strong>: why do people like you always have something to say? can you not appreciate something for what it is? <br />

You people are a disgrace to Malaysians.
B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Oct 13, 2009
Dear GTi, as far as I'm concerned, plates are usually blurred out when it's published in sites like zth where the readership is usually quite high. It is done as a sign of respect by the media people to the car owners.
B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Oct 13, 2009
Okay, by all means have it your way. It's your site, can't tell you how to run it.
bizardo: since you actually returned, i can understand your concern. If the plates can be removed, that's good, but it doesn't mean a sign of respect, when the cars weren't even shown to be doing anything illegal?

I would really like to confirm this thing about number plates being a big no no like you said. How are their privacy being compromised?
M
  • M
    mike_lim12
  • Oct 13, 2009
walau.....zth just wanna share some high profile event to us just for our courage
like this also got lot of comment???dun make sense....number plate la,compare KANCIL and porch la camera effect la this la tat la....damn
is that easy to make such a best ever local automobile website now??
ill support u zth.....
B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Oct 13, 2009
Let me tell you a story, a fictional one of course :

Let's just say I know a person named Tom who owns a e34 with red leather interior with a v12 engine as the heart of the car. Everytime he passes by in his car I'll notice him.

Then one day, as his car rumbles by, I saw him with a different girl, other than his gf. Then I might tell the other guy, Keshy, "Eh Tom got new girl aa?". Keshy wouldn't really know, then he might ask around or I might ask around n spread false rumours.

When Tom's gf heard about this, I'm sure it wouldn't be nice.

The situation might not happen this way. But I'm sure blurring out those plates would mean avoiding all those possible troubles. Prevention is better than cure, no?

The story above is just a piece of my imaginative mind. :)
B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Oct 13, 2009
mike_lim12, u know apa tu panggil blind support? No comments = No development.
bizardo: i have read your story and honestly, i don't see how your example reflects on this number plate issue at all. Can anyone?

Unless you're saying we're deliberately publicizing their number plates, or creating controversies around it like how you described in your "i'll tell on you" story?
B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Oct 13, 2009
Well, my intention wasn't to tell on you. It was supposed to bring it down to a more personal level. I'm truly sorry if you're offended.

I still think in public sites like zth, plates of cars featured here should be blurred out except for special cases such as stolen vehicles.

I'm sure they'll appreciate it if the plates were blurred out. In the end, it's your show and your shots. :)
bizardo: no offence taken. but that was kind of personal.

there are of course certain scenarios like when plates should be removed and certain times when the whole picture looks better unadulterated. This is the one.

Exclusive plates and Exotic cars.
A
  • A
    alonso
  • Oct 13, 2009
waa...a lot of cool cars there..
thinking own one from any model and join this great &amp; exclusive events
goods job mod@tom...
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Oct 13, 2009
I don't think ZTH has in anyway disrespected the owners of the cars. Reasons as follows:

- If the owners wanted privacy they would have simply covered the plates like they do sometimes at some events.
- JPM are the organizers of the event. They would have told the media if plates were an issue. Take note that many of the exotics you see belonged to JPM and a few other exotic collectors.
- It's a public event with plenty of promotion done to draw interest. They expect media and public to come snap photos.

In contrast if one were to stumble upon an exotic car in private somewhere, it would be courteous to blur out the plates. Otherwise at a publicly organized event like this, it would't matter.
M
  • M
    munky
  • Oct 13, 2009
i dont understand the logic behind blurring no plates. it's not like ppl cant see the plate when they drive them on public roads.
K
I think the plates should be removed, once you get the complaint from the guy who actually owns the car. Else, I don't think it is much of an issue.
A
  • A
    angeline
  • Oct 13, 2009
bizardo: i'm sure it wouldnt be nice... but then you seem to be noticing his 'different' gf.. not his number plate! he'd be in trouble even if he hides his number plate!

what is even more exclusive than these supercars are perhaps their exclusive plates. the number plates itself sets these supercars apart!

this is such an exclusive event. not often do we malaysians get to witness such a collection... all of them out to play! we should be real proud to have such a collection in our own country! regardless of whether a kancil or a rally driver can beat these cars on the hillclimb, the important thing here is, these cars are there to do what they are made to do. at the very least, the owners are doing their cars justice. try to appreciate that!
T
  • T
  • Oct 13, 2009
Nice event. It's totally pointless to blank out the plates on these cars at a public event. How many of these exotics are around Malaysia? even if the plates blanked out people will also know its the same car if they saw it in real. Owners of these exotics already know they bound to get a lot of attention and pictures taken when they drive these cars out. They also know people will take pictures of their cars.
J
  • J
    jpoplover
  • Oct 13, 2009
thanks Toms for sharing nice pic and video....
nice car there...
another great event at malaysia.
J
  • J
    Jerry_c
  • Oct 13, 2009
Is this a race? why driving so slow.
E
  • E
    Evo4G63
  • Oct 13, 2009
Tom, thanks for the photos &amp; the coverage of the event. Really appreciated it.

For those who like to debate off this topic pls carry the debate elsewhere.
M
@ TOM,

U did not say it was a practice run on the main page. i was assuming its the real thing.. its not my fault =)
M
  • M
    munky
  • Oct 13, 2009
unless there is a law (i mean official law like those Akta), blurring the no plate is unnecessary. If u take a photo, with ppl in the background, do u blur their faces out ? What's the difference ? Our faces is more personal than a no plate. No ? Do u blur out no plates of a bus ? A lorry ?
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Oct 14, 2009
Got time sheet or not? I want to see what is fastest on that hill. hehehe.
metalheads: no problems at all, it seems like many didn't know it was a practice video. i'll add a caption
D
  • D
    Dicdoc
  • Oct 14, 2009
nice event!!
must be fun riding their supercar on the hillside!!
y r ther ppl alway saying who is fast who is slow....enjoy the ride!!! &gt;.&lt;
H
  • H
    HaZaRd
  • Oct 14, 2009
this is an exotic event... supercars deserved it. We as motorsport enthusiast love to see this kind of event been organized.

as a malaysian, I'm proud to see those expensive supercars was owned by Malaysian, I don't mind if they can't drive it fast on the road cause it STILL SUPERCARS. :D

if any of you guy disgrace on this event since it doesn't involved other cars than Supercars... u may just simply jealous on them coz u dont own one.

It's a great start, hopefully they would try to organize event like this for non-Supercars. I'm looking forward for it. peace! :)
H
  • H
    HaZaRd
  • Oct 14, 2009
by the way, regarding those exposed no. plate, i dont think it really matter.

compared to those supercars, most of us owned a modified car (mass around malaysia roads) and exposed plate number might be a threat to us. since we modified and put some stuff on it, theft gonna 'mark' on that particular car since thats the one thing to differentiate cars on the road.

sportcars? they're rare... just like TitanRev said, exposed plate number kinda doesn't matter. do theft find it useful info? does the info helps them to identify which supercar is the best to steal? i dont think so.. LOL~

juz my 2 cent ;)
K
  • K
    Kowreck Corleone
  • Oct 14, 2009
Crack: not really la kne tanam. drive carefully sure no tanam2. drive about 60 ok la tu. over that than my kancil go like orang semput. hahahaha.

Tom: i know that nobody cares about my kancil. but hey, who does care right? apart from me that is. lighten up man. its a joke.
K
  • K
    koolspyda
  • Oct 14, 2009
ahh the debate of blurring plates.

i agree that some owners prefer some sort of privacy of their car &amp; no plates, however in such public events &amp; the whole media being there, i sure he/she can understand the herds of photographers, videographers clinking away.

Then there is the 'I snap this car at such-such place' ie restaurant, hotel etc in their own time (not a public event). I'm sure some discretion should be taken to underscore the no plates.

I'm sure if no one likes it when people start clinking away of you (even if in public place). take for example some celebrities, they attend award events, camera clicks, fine.

They spend quality time with family at some private beach, they would love some privacy, even if they are in 'public' view.
M
@ Tom,
Much better =p sorry for the miscommunication.. see you soon..
E
  • E
    East
  • Oct 14, 2009
wow... novitec f430! a rare piece in town.
A
  • A
    ap3xi
  • Oct 14, 2009
LOL on the no. plates issue! I think if the owner of the car wanna be so low profile then we wont see him in such events. Then if you really blurred out the pics maybe they will blamed you for not showing their RM100k no. plate! Btw hi Tom i saw the new photos of your mini, damn nice wei
E
  • E
    eddz
  • Oct 15, 2009
lol @ the number plate issue.

they aren't doing anything illegal and even the owners didn't complain wat? deal with it!
R
  • R
    recaro26 PMC
  • Oct 16, 2009
nice race....
C
As someone who competed in this event, I really don't mind the whole license plate issue. A few people at the event covered their plates themselves. If the owner of the car has a problem with the plates being pictured they can always just make a complaint of which I'm sure Tom would comply to.

If anything I think a lot of the owners are showing off their licence plates! It's cool to see someone driving a 355 Ferrari with number plate xxx 355, etc.

Anyway, it was a fun event, and can't wait for next year. And yes, you can enter a Japanese car, as long as it's 'sporty' enough and the organizers clears it. There were a few MR2s and a Silvia, but the fastest car out there was the Safety Car EvoX!
D
Why ppl argue about no plate..? if they dunwan 2 show the plate, can always cover it, as they know this event will be publish. So they r "showing off" their (dun know can buy how many kancil) no plate. Just enjoy the foto n video la guys.. petrol porn.. i'm shuting up now.
T
  • T
    teo1957
  • Oct 16, 2009
I LIKE!

Congrats to whoever pulled off this superb idea. I can't care less about organizational problems, number plate issues, the idea in itself in incredible, to pull this off in Malaysia is just amazing.
M
  • M
    Mr Y
  • Oct 16, 2009
this event should be done like twice a year. that be damn wonderfull. next year i sure go.

BTW i dont think that revealing registration number a big deal. i think plp who comment bout this should mind their bussiness if it's not their car to begin with. AGB11 bentley on a run is sure sight to be seen. please bring us more of this good stuff. TQ ZTH
A
  • A
    arjuna
  • Oct 17, 2009
Do you guys know that anything can be trace by a number plate?
as in if you wana know where the person live, who's the owner, what cars on the plate etc, it can be done just by searching from the number plate.
fyi, my gtr number plate once being used on a wira! All of sudden a speed ticket sent to my hme ( alot ) where i didnt do it at all. After investigating it happen to be sumone using my number plate for an illegal racing around the highway. Thats the reason why it should be blurred. But then still, at the outside of the picture in real life event ppl still can take my number. But at least preventing is good by blurring it.

Even my friend e32 being rob at home coz the robber know where he live by tracing the detail in the number plate from a picture.

Its not all about privacy its just some of lil part in safety. Theres a lot of crazy ppl out there guys. We just dont know.

Lets just take it as one of things to learn for everyone.
B
  • B
    boleh
  • Oct 19, 2009
If you're an avid motoring fan/enthusiast follower, you'll find publications (whether online or offline) with number plates of cars visible without an issue. Some of these cars I can recognise from previous spottings and events already even if you blur out it won't make any difference. These people take part in these events because they're bold, rich, flashy, and simply sporting. If they're paranoid about their privacy then they should not participate at all, lest they have to go around telling all those who were present that day not to take photograph of their cars. Come on. Give ZTH a break, give other ZTH readers a break.
L
beutiful car
R
Hello, Neat post. There's an issue with your site in internet explorer, might check this? IE still is the marketplace leader and a good portion of other people will leave out your magnificent writing due to this problem.
R