BMWNews

Leaked: BMW 5-Series GT

bmw-5-series-gt

The first shots of the 5-Series GT have leaked out ahead of the car’s planned unveiling at the Geneva Motor Show. A product of BMW’s expansion into the “lifestyle” segment, the GT looks like a lower, less muscular X6 and is also one of the last Bimmers that Chris Bangle has had significant influence on.

bmw-5-series-gt-2

It carries the now typical love it or hate it design and final judgment is up to personal taste but this GT pictures here almost looks production ready with it’s over-sized front grille borrowed from the 2010 7-Series, headlamps from the Concept CS, and a rear end from the X6.

bmw-5-series-gt-3

Expect the interior to be toned down a bit for production, and just maybe the wheels will get an inch smaller, but other than that, expect it to hit showroom floors real soon.

bmw-5-series-gt-6

BMW 5-Series GTBMW 5-Series GT (4)BMW 5-Series GT (7)BMW 5-Series GT (6)BMW 5-Series GT (5)BMW 5-Series GT (2)BMW 5-Series GT (1)BMW 5-Series GT (3)BMW 5-Series GT (8)

T
  • T
    toin_toin_toin
  • Feb 13, 2009
look abit like gen2 from the side view.... and the back light also abit look like gen2...ermmm dont think much ppl will buy it.. looks normall notting special...but they name it GT... ::::: faint:::::
M
  • M
    metalheads
  • Feb 13, 2009
the front side view look like the new Mitsu Lancer..
E
  • E
    ephique74
  • Feb 13, 2009
Well, its build based on the concept of practicality. The design language is from the new designer... whoever he is. Not as weirdly wonderful as Chris Bangle did. More boring lines than ever. I'd buy this car. Maybe not... Oh wait, is BMW saving cost by using other parts from other models? X6, new 7 series. Oh my...
V
  • V
    vin9277
  • Feb 14, 2009
UGLY UGLY UGLY! cut and paste cars are never beautiful no passion was put into designing it! if this what chris bangle is designing these days BMW is lucky tht this is his last design for them! seriously! wat was he thinking?? is it supposed to compete with the Mercs R class?? not fight there thts for sure!
S
  • S
    strike961
  • Feb 14, 2009
Oh no...this GT can makan our Lancer GT anytime...
P
  • P
    PocketRocket
  • Feb 14, 2009
overall it looks good....my only concern is its nose grill is abit ...erm....HUGE! :D
S
  • S
    SoYouThinkYouCanDrive
  • Feb 14, 2009
I think the new designer is from PIXAR
E
  • E
    ephique74
  • Feb 14, 2009
vin9277, chris bangle didn't design this. most of the latest models are influenced by the new designer adrian von hooydonk. flame when only you know what ur flaming at.
K
  • K
    khencana
  • Feb 14, 2009
BuRoKKKKKK!!!!!
M
  • M
    markIItrd
  • Feb 15, 2009
hmmmm nothing special on shape
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Feb 15, 2009
Gen 2 butt. hahaha. So now BMW got rid of Bangle and they start to copy other manufacturers for designs? Anyway the car looks weird in a truncated way. X6 wannabe. Create new markets? Damn BMW seems to be going loopy these days.
V
  • V
    VDread
  • Feb 15, 2009
netmatrix;
now that you mentioned it, yeah, it does follow some cues from the Gen2.
Now who say that only Proton copy?
Korean car also copy, now BMW also copy.

:D
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Feb 16, 2009
interior looks like a speed boat's interior.
B
I must show my thanks to you for bailing me out of this dilemma. After surfing through the the web and meeting basics that were not productive, I believed my life was done. Existing minus the solutions to the issues you've fixed through your main article is a serious case, as well as ones which might have in a wrong way affected my entire career if I had not noticed your blog. That natural talent and kindness in taking care of every part was excellent. I am not sure what I would've done if I had not come across such a solution like this. I can also at this point relish my future. Thanks so much for the skilled and result oriented guide. I won't be reluctant to recommend your web sites to anyone who will need care on this subject.
B