GoodyearMalaysiaNewsTyres

Goodyear DuraPlus with TredLife Technology™ Has Proven to Deliver Longer Tread Life and Outstanding Value

duraplus_0003

Kuala Lumpur, September 9, 2009 – Ever since Goodyear launched its innovative DuraPlus tires – touted to go as far as 100,000 km or 80% longer1 than its leading competitor – in June this year, the results have been nothing short of outstanding.

Goodyear DuraPlus tires, which incorporate Goodyear’s pioneering TredLife Technology™, are designed to provide outstanding mileage without compromising on safety and performance. The tires have made an impact in two areas – the Goodyear DuraPlus Endurance Challenge, and in sales.

duraplus_00021

The seven-week Goodyear DuraPlus Endurance Challenge, which started on June 2, saw four identical Toyota Vios journeying across open roads in Thailand. Each car was fitted with a different brand of tires in size 185/65 R14 – one of them being Goodyear DuraPlus.

Dedicated test drivers drove for 24 hours, six days a week, in which three shifts were taken per day, and travelled in a convoy to ensure maximum consistency – in terms of the route, road and weather conditions. The tires were also rotated amongst the four cars to maintain the same type of conditions.

Goodyear’s Testing Division was tasked to measure the tread depth and estimated tread wear for each tire on a weekly basis throughout the duration of the test. And after seven grueling weeks of driving, the cars reached their last measurement point at 50,000km. Projections were then taken based on the potential mileage of the car.

duraplus_0001

And the results spoke for themselves. “After hitting the 50,000km mark, Goodyear DuraPlus has only shown 34% wear, compared to competitor A, B, and C, that has 57%, 57% and 56% wear respectively. Based on these results, we are very confident that DuraPlus can outperform its competitors and go beyond 100,000 km,” said Goodyear’s ASEAN Managing Director, Richard Fleming.

The story doesn’t just end there. In Malaysia, the tire has quickly gained popularity amongst motorists. “In the current economy, consumers are looking to stretch their Ringgit further, and are always on the lookout for exceptional value especially amongst drivers of smaller passenger vehicles. Goodyear DuraPlus caters to this need, since it provides longer tread life and exceptional mileage,” said Goodyear Malaysia’s Managing Director, Nasution Abdul Rahman. “In fact, requests for Goodyear DuraPlus have been so good that we are finding it a challenge to meet that growing demand.”

Ng Kong Hock, a representative Ban Hooi Tayar Sdn Bhd, one of Goodyear’s largest Autocare dealers, also agreed with Nasution’s sentiments: “There is a demand amongst retailers, to sell Goodyear DuraPlus as it is priced affordably, and the fact that it can go as far as 100,000km is an unbeatable attraction – no other tire manufacturer has made such a claim.”

Goodyear’s Testing Division has also tested the Goodyear DuraPlus on company tracks in Mireval, France and Colmar-Berg, Luxembourg as well as on open roads in Thailand against leading competitors in the same category. In addition, the Goodyear DuraPlus tires were also tested on their performance in handling, comfort, grip and rolling resistance.

Innovated for Longer Mileage – TredLife Technology™

TredLife Technology™ incorporates three key elements which gives DuraPlus the ability to travel as far as 100,000km. These are:

1. New Generation Wide Face Cavity: The tire’s large tread width allows for an increased footprint, making way for more wearable rubber to come in contact with the road.
2. Maximised Rubber Volume: With its deep tread depth, the tire also has a larger road contact area, which in turn, increases wearable rubber volume.
3. Advanced Carbon-based Tread Compound: This unique blend enables the tire to have higher resistance to frictional wear.

Other great features

Goodyear’s DuraPlus also hosts a series of additional benefits, which include:

1. Innovative Carcass Design: This incorporates a stronger fabric that provides less resistance to tire revolution.
2. Asymmetric tread: This design places more rubber on the outside shoulder, providing increased grip during cornering.
3. Closed outside shoulder elements: This reduces the radiated noise from the tire.

In addition, improved fuel efficiency, precise handling and increased comfort are additional benefits of the Goodyear DuraPlus design.

In Malaysia, Goodyear’s DuraPlus with TredLife Technology™ is available in the following sizes at all Goodyear Servitekar and Autocare outlets nationwide:

11 sizes available in 13”-15” and H/T ratings:

untitled-11

Goodyear DuraPlus with TredLife Technology™ is suitable for smaller passenger cars. Typical makes and models include:

untitled-21

B
  • B
    bluetaxi
  • Sep 10, 2009
Good for saleman car tyres.
N
  • N
    Neo.S
  • Sep 10, 2009
hmmm this formula could be suit for drifters , if the pattern was right design
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Sep 11, 2009
This is not performance tire la. How can it be associated with drifting? Unless you are drifting on budget, you would not even want to look at new tires. The tire size is weird. 185/65/14 is hardly a correct calibration for most cars that upgrades from 13 to 14 inch.
B
  • B
    banner-grid-740932290 .grid-col-1-2height:200px
  • Jan 23, 2020
Hey I know this is ooff topic but I wass wondering if you kneww of any widgets I could addd
to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
I've been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would
have some experience with something likee this. Please let me know if you run into
anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your
new updates.
B