GT-RNewsNissan

Nissan GTR V-Spec Officially Unveiled – 37 New Images Added

01_nissan_gt-r_specv

The V-Spec as we Malaysians call it or the Spec-V as the rest of the world calls it is officially here. Nissan has just released new images and an official press release on the celebrated V. Read on for Nissan’s official statement and all the information on the V-Spec.

TOKYO (Jan. 8, 2009) — Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. today announced a new limited-production Nissan GT-R SpecV model, which goes on sale at seven specially selected Nissan dealers throughout Japan on February 2, 2009. The GT-R SpecV is targeted specifically at enthusiast drivers who desire race car-level performance in a street-legal vehicle.

02_nissan_gt-r_specv

Developed around the multi-dimensional Nissan GT-R sports car, which was introduced just more than one year ago to universal global acclaim, the new SpecV model builds on the original’s “ultimate supercar that anyone can enjoy driving anywhere, at anytime” philosophy – taking it to an entirely new level of “oneness between man and machine.” The SpecV model includes unique body, interior and performance equipment and modifications, raising the GT-R’s unmatched performance to even higher levels.

03_nissan_gt-r_specv

The GT-R SpecV’s new exterior features include a carbon fiber rear spoiler, a carbon fiber grille, and carbon fiber brake ducts. The SpecV is available exclusively in Ultimate Black Opal (RP) body color. Inside, the SpecV’s unique two-seat interior (non-SpecV GT-R models also include a two-place rear seat) offers special Recaro carbon fiber bucket seats, while carbon fiber insets embellish the rear center storage box, instrument panel and other trim areas.

04_nissan_gt-r_specv

Performance is enhanced with a new high gear boost control device, which momentarily increases boost of the engine’s twin turbochargers for greater torque in the intermediate-to-high speed ranges to provide a more powerful feeling of acceleration, while also allowing the engine to operate at a lower speed for improved fuel economy. Other modifications include a titanium-coated exhaust system and carbon-ceramic brakes that provide powerful stopping performance.

05_nissan_gt-r_specv

The GT-R SpecV is also equipped with lightweight, racing-style forged aluminum wheels that were developed for this model and have been sold by Nissan Motorsports International (NISMO) since September 2008. The lighter unsprung weight provided by the new wheels, together with the enhanced braking capability, an exclusive suspension and high-grip tires, combine to deliver the SpecV’s exceptional performance.

37 New Images

02_nissan_gt-r_specv05_nissan_gt-r_specv03_nissan_gt-r_specv04_nissan_gt-r_specv01_nissan_gt-r_specvNissan-GT-R-SpecV-21Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-28

Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-15Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-23Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-5Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-32Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-10Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-35Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-37Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-18Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-34Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-33Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-16Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-27Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-29Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-19Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-12Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-36Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-25Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-30Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-26Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-11Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-14Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-1Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-8Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-4Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-13Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-31Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-3Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-7Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-17Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-9Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-22Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-2Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-24Nissan-GT-R-SpecV-20

S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Jan 8, 2009
omg..this is the meanest beast i ever see......... in n out.... how much bro? PM me your best price... :p
B
  • B
    bien335
  • Jan 8, 2009
how much more power? 520PS?
M
  • M
    midship
  • Jan 8, 2009
GT-R Forever!
A
  • A
    A1diablo
  • Jan 8, 2009
As if the standard GTR wasn't fast enough.. lol thats why i like nissan sportcars.

Wonder what will happen when they release 'V-Spec II' Will they call it 'Spec V2'??

An then they'll top it off with something even way faster and call it Spec 'Nur' or something
T
  • T
    Tohsan
  • Jan 8, 2009
i cant the different from the earlier model except the color!
L
  • L
    links
  • Jan 8, 2009
The maintanance of this beast is quite high. Bumped into few owners of the R35 in hk. Even with the popularityof R35 in hk( i can see atleast 1 GTR35 on the road everyday), one normal service will still cost about hkd$10k(about rm$5000).

The most expensive stuff is the gear box oil, it must be Original Nissan stuff and cost about HK$7000-8000 on every change. And one common problem spotted with the gearbox is when the gear box oil get heat up (probly because of the exhaust pipe location is too close to the gear box), the engine computer will lock the power.

Also, since its computer controlled almost everything(except the driver), a change in rims , tyre will need to send back to factory to reset the computer or the car engine will get lock up by the computer. Only a handful of mechanics are able to "touch" on the R35....

some of the GTR35 owners already fed up and selling their cars recently....i guess nissan is making this beast too "electronics"....
F
  • F
    fai2max
  • Jan 8, 2009
wo..is drink money beast ler......
R
  • R
    rajie
  • Jan 8, 2009
if u change the ECU to MOTEC,AUTRONIC,HALTECH can it elimanate all the electronic problem n power locking ???
L
  • L
    links
  • Jan 8, 2009
you cant change ECU easily, but there is shop able to use the interceptor to program on the original ecu.I have heard one mechanic mentioned even just tune the original ECU also they encounter quite some problems. However, recently they work with HKS and release the ECU mod for R35.Most R35 onwers are sending their car to replace the exahust with heat shield to eliminate the heating problem on gear box oil.

Only a handful of bigger workshops imported those replacement ECU but so far i have not met any owner modded that and so i cant tell much. Its quite costly to mod R35, one set of carbon air ducts on the bonnet was quoted about HKD$9000 and the front grill is about the same price as well. A light tune will cost about hk$100k easily.

Currently most workshops are still on trial and error way to mod the R35, if anything went wrong and computer lock, they will send back to one of the workshops which claimed to have imported an computer to reset the R35 ECU in hk.

I guess servicing this car in msia could be quite tedious as well. HK should have atleast 300-400 R35 by now but still they encounter quite a lot of problems with the maintanance since all cars were grey import without OEM service. Some guys who bought the earlier batch car even have to ship the car all the way back to japan to fix the minor problems.
J
  • J
    jeffsandhu
  • Jan 8, 2009
the rims has to go!! liked the previous rims better...
L
  • L
    links
  • Jan 8, 2009
Bad news is, you cant simply change the rims.....not all rims can be fitted in R35, it has some kind of stupid devices inside the rims and the computer will "lock" the engine if the rims is not for the R35...there is very limited choice in the market currently.
F
  • F
    filterz
  • Jan 8, 2009
better used as per standard spec...enuf headache wit ths tech
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Jan 8, 2009
Is the GTR officially experted anywhere? I can't seem to find any official dealers around the world for it. I think its only for domestic market only. Hence the problems stated by links is actually very true. I think the owners in Malaysia & Singapore would be scratching their heads now if problems comes up.

The wheels have to be the same weight and dimensions to fool the computer into believing it is still using OEM wheels. It is stated long time ago.

It is also rumoured that the GTR ECU has anti hacking properties. U can't replace a main chip like last time. It seems like the ECU is like a mini computer, like you can't work without a graphics card or ram.

I wonder if the ECU processing power is as powerful as a PS3? hahaha. Polyphony's job here.

I don't think you can make use of MOTEC or any aftermarket ECU on this thing. This is probably the only car is built wholy around the ECU. Take a look at the GT500 Super GT GTR. It isn't using the stock engine, for apparent reason. hahaha.

Anyway this car is history in the making. A legend no matter how many complaints coming from users.
E
  • E
    ephique74
  • Jan 8, 2009
well if its a computer, someone out there can definitely unlock the computer. skyline, don't play with us. just put the damn v8 in that car like u did with the GT-R LM, with twin turbos too if u dont mind.
G
  • G
    GT_AUTO
  • Jan 8, 2009
it just a matter of time before some company step up with their own invention
to make this monster more tuner friendly.be it motec,halltech........
D
  • D
    devon
  • Jan 8, 2009
walau, the Vspec badge veli nice. where can buy?
i wan stick on my kancil
L
  • L
    links
  • Jan 8, 2009
Just drop by one of the tuning shop in hk today. With the sacrifices of a few guinea pig, they now able to do some mod with the ECU. But its still possible to have problems after tune up so the boss said they are able to reset the ECU after set up. some one in hk has imported the OEM ECU tuning computer from Japan which rumoured to cost HK$1m.

The boss said R35 can now using mines VX rom and Amuse Rom computer. Another firm is importing ECU ROM from a japan firm call Zetec. So I think they are now able to play with the ECU of R35 since they can reset the ECU if anything happen.

For the HKS package, the boost controller has to be the special model for R35.....

But for the wheels, they still advice its tedious to change. The normal service price has came down to hkD9000 since more firms are competing.....

HK could have more than 400 R35 now....but quite a few are selling those made before mid 08 because they said the gearbox is not working properly....
Links.. Get some pics man.. Email it to us.. We'll be happy to publish it if appropriate..
M
  • M
    mingz
  • Jan 9, 2009
no engine bay pic....stingy fellow
S
  • S
    SKUNK_WORKS
  • Jan 9, 2009
Very informative..... links.thanx...eventhough i can't own one still appreciate the info.
W
  • W
    wmb3223
  • Jan 10, 2009
after eliminate all this problem then i think can afford to have this big boy toy on my own.................... wait with patien
L
Thanks for the Post, thanks for your fine Post. I will come back soon . Great information about ps3 hacking: <a href="http://howtohackps3.com/" rel="nofollow">PS3 Hack</a>
E
I am very enjoyed for this blog. It’s an informative topic. It help me very much to solve some problems. Its opportunity are so fantastic and working style so speedy. I think it may be help all of you. Thanks.
B
There are some attention-grabbing deadlines on this article but I don't know if I see all of them middle to heart. There may be some validity however Ill take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like extra! Added to FeedBurner as nicely
K
I do not understand exactly how I found this blog because I had been researching information on Real Estate in Lake Mary FL but anyway I have thoroughly
K