News

Civic FD2R owners invade Sepang!

Just last week, Honda Malaysia made an exclusive invitation to all their Civic Type-R owners for a good track experience, and as you can see from the pictures, a battalion of VTEC goodness.

Posted Here at the Honda Type R Forums by Lightningfield

How exclusive

Pentagon’s very own J’s Racing inspired R

Not to be trifled with.

Spot the odd one out

Thanks to Lightningfield for the pictures: Honda Malaysia calling all Civic Type R owners join an exclusive track day at Sepang

B
  • B
    BlackJack
  • Nov 20, 2009
I am impressed.
I think I will be getting one of these next year ! hu-rar!
B
  • B
    bluetaxi
  • Nov 20, 2009
Go move by Honda to offer their FD2R owners a good track day in SIC!!!
K
  • K
    Khencana
  • Nov 20, 2009
perfecT! if i hv one.......
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 20, 2009
How many are on the road already ah? Last time only limited 20 units or something only right?
C
  • C
    continental_drifter
  • Nov 20, 2009
thumbs up to HM,accept for the weather =[
B
  • B
    bapakkau
  • Nov 20, 2009
i am questioning the same, how many on malaysian road actually. counted in the pic like 34 of em. (exclude that one DC5R...hehhee).

that blue FD on the track, that's not type R!
:p
L
guys according to honda malaysia they have sold close to 200 units of FD2R. on that track day itself i think about 60 units FD2R turned up. Overall it was a fun day at SIC (with the presence of top people like Honda Malaysia MD, Karamjit Singh etc). From the photos, I think its quite hard to distinguish your FD2R from the top haaha. Honda Malaysia should bring more color variants of the Type-R!

p/s: that DC5 tu sibuk-sibuk only... :-D
L
  • L
    LFT_24
  • Nov 20, 2009
Wah ! thats my video !
C
  • C
    continental_drifter
  • Nov 20, 2009
bapakkau: that bluey is FD2+R = FD2R
B
  • B
    BlackFace
  • Nov 20, 2009
Really fanstatic!! gogogo all CTR
P
  • P
    pc2
  • Nov 20, 2009
why some civic type r's rims not white one? are they really type r?

you could say maybe they changed it, but who would want to change a stock type r rim?
M
.. y would people change a ferrari rim? lol.. same answer to your question.. because they can... -.- joker..
K
  • K
    k20a
  • Nov 20, 2009
stock fd2r rims are hot item to ek's,es' or dc's owner.. u just need to top up a bit to swap it to volk or o.z or advan etc etc..like the guy said..why ferari owner change his stock rim?
A
  • A
    arip
  • Nov 20, 2009
if the owner bored wif the type R rims,..up to them larr wanna change it or not,..wahaha!!
E
Honda so good to their drivers. Toyota No... :-(
T
  • T
    Toyota
  • Nov 21, 2009
TOYOTA? Wut do u want UMW Toyota to do? Come up with a TOYOTA VIOS Track day or some crap like that? Be realistic.....how much did u pay for your vios? The Civic Type R are premium priced machines and therefore the owners deserved to be treated to a club or track day.
T
  • T
    tigertie
  • Nov 21, 2009
Hmmm.. the HM R machine seems to be having the diamond shaped rear light already.. Facelift R?
B
  • B
    BlackFace
  • Nov 21, 2009
ya agreed Toyota!! So we can see the level is difference for Toyota & Honda :)
D
  • D
    draquela
  • Nov 21, 2009
wonder whether paul tan drove in SIC before? heard he blew a civic type r engine before, stupid fella downshift from 4th gear to 2nd.. how can people trust what he writes abotu cars when he him self can drive? LOL!
S
  • S
    sifu
  • Nov 21, 2009
hi guys..

i love this vid but i think the gear changing is 'fail'.

this guy will definitely lost in a pro race because of his bad of changing from high to low gear.

the sound is so apparent. Revving before changing down a gear at high speed is true, but he did not engage the cluth in a correct time. so it was a waste of doing the high revving. The purpose of high revving before gear down is to minimise 'engine braking'.

This guy was doing a gear down at below of it's require rpm on that speed.fail to this especially on wet track, it tends to oversteer a car even there will be a slight steering input. This is because tyres has been lock up by engine.

Try to gear down a little bit above or same as it's require rpm.

ex:

it is easy to gear up rather than gear down. if you failed the latter, you increase the margin with other opponents.
S
  • S
    sifu
  • Nov 21, 2009
hi guys..

i love this vid but i think the gear changing is 'fail'.

this guy will definitely lost in a pro race because of his bad of changing from high to low gear.

the sound is so apparent. Revving before changing down a gear at high speed is true, but he did not engage the cluth in a correct time. so it was a waste of doing the high revving. The purpose of high revving before gear down is to minimise 'engine braking'.

This guy was doing a gear down at below of it's require rpm on that speed.fail to this especially on wet track, it tends to oversteer a car even there will be a slight steering input. This is because tyres has been lock up by engine.

Try to gear down a little bit above or same as it's require rpm.

it is easy to gear up rather than gear down. if you failed the latter, you increase the margin with other opponents.
S
  • S
    sifupoyo
  • Nov 21, 2009
hi guys..(sorry, this is the revised version)

i love this vid but i think the gear changing is ‘fail’.

the sound is so apparent. Revving before changing down a gear at high speed is true, but he did not engage the cluth in a correct time. so it was a waste of doing the high revving. The purpose of high revving before gear down is to minimise ‘engine braking’.

This guy was doing a gear down at below of it’s require rpm on that speed.fail to this especially on wet track, it tends to oversteer a car even if there was a light steering input. This happened because tyres has been lock up by engine.

Try to gear down a little bit above or same as it’s require rpm.

it is easy to gear up rather than to gear down. if you failed the latter, you increase the margin with other opponents.

tip: train your right foot first by doing a toe braking. just using your toe. get familiar with your brake force first. Toe braking is quite difficult due to the absence of your heel that acts as a pivot. for a toe braking, your ankle is the pivot.
H
  • H
    hoi
  • Nov 21, 2009
ahhhh the guru......later come a few thousand ceramah about how to drive a car...pfffftttttt
    4G93
  • Nov 21, 2009
@sifupoyo
No offence but i think its bad of u to say "fail" . He's gear changing might not be good but from the video u can see that he is much better than most of the drivers on track. And for u to say that he will lose in a pro race is rather harsh. Who knows he might be using the track as a training ground to perfect his gear changing ? Practice makes perfect and u should have the thought that he is practicing in the video. again no offence :)
S
  • S
    sifupoyo
  • Nov 21, 2009
hehhehe....4G93, yeah i should not claim it as 'fail'.

I agree with you.

I think they should change the video title by adding a word 'amateur' in a bracket- to avoid misjudging.

btw, i dont have any intention to belittle anybody.

Cheer up everybody!!
    4G93
  • Nov 21, 2009
amateur or non amateur it was just a track day .WHat is there to misjudge ? The video does not state that the person is a pro driver or was showing off about it. I think he deserves some credit for being able to overtake that many cars on track ( not to mention all same cars ) . Anyway good video there Lightningfield !
S
  • S
    speed
  • Nov 21, 2009
owh sifu poyo i guess u shud revise ur driving knowledge before advising other ppl, its not call high revving before shifting down, it's called blipping the thorttle,using heel and toe the main reason for doing this is not just because u will end up locking ur tyre, but to save the gearbox..

and i dont think its because he does not engage the clucth at the right time, its because he does not use enough braking at each corner. relying on to early downshifting using engine braking to slow down the car rather than using the car full braking capacity, for me this was the driver mistake. other than that he seems like a good driver.
S
  • S
    sifupoyo
  • Nov 23, 2009
ok speed, high revving or blipping, i take both.

Using engine braking to slow down?? yeah i agree..but he did not engage the clutch at a correct rpm.. It seems like it wont save the gearbox so much. We are talking about shifting down before a corner, not about going downhill to KL from Genting.

You dont think he did not engage the clucth at he right time? I think the engine sound tells everything. I think you better watch other's good video that tells how to shift down at high speed.

Listen to the engine sound carefully, actually he does not need to do that 'blipping' because he engage the clutch too late. NO POINT.
S
  • S
    sifupoyo
  • Nov 23, 2009
to 4g93...

yeah...he deserves some credit...

...and he did much more better that the others too....
    4G93
  • Nov 23, 2009
sifupoyo i reckon u post a vid of urself for everyone here to have a "lesson" on your style :) Maybe we can learn a thing or two from the sifu :-P
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 23, 2009
Taekwondo uniform threatening to exit the window..... hahahah.
B
  • B
    bapakkau
  • Nov 23, 2009
i agree with 4G93...!!!
B
  • B
    bapakkau
  • Nov 23, 2009
cmon sifupoyo...show us what u got...no excuse....
S
  • S
    sifupoyo
  • Nov 23, 2009
ehekkss...seems like ya all really want a prove??

one day fellas...one day i'll come back.make sure this post is alive.

of course a manual car will do. bye2 everybody!

* i try to find some time to make a vid & publish it.
    4G93
  • Nov 23, 2009
Yes dont worry this post will be alive :) We can wait for u but we hope u are not like what your name says you are :P
S
  • S
    Speed
  • Nov 24, 2009
sifupoyo wut do u mean by engaging the clutch to late? i still think that the way he did it, is correct just he didnt use the brake that much.. and still its not high revving i never heard such term,i hv heard synchronize but not high revving, cuz ur are just blipping, just a slight touch..not high revving it.

and even if ur playing downhill, heel and toe an appropriate technique, even daily drive, it helps to preserve ur gearbox and also help to balance the car momentum and physic(e.g locking the tyre)..

and y are u so persistent on he's engaging the clutch to late??its clear that he didnt use enough braking before each corner and relying to much on engine braking ...one of the first rule of racing trust ur break..not engine braking..

but then myb ur a pro racer, and u might be right ehmm
K
  • K
    k20a
  • Nov 25, 2009
i am here to keep this post alive.. vid pls..;p
    4G93
  • Nov 25, 2009
yes yes we want vids ! where the vids at ?!
S
  • S
    supernova
  • Nov 26, 2009
Hey guys.. actually, I agree with "sifupoyo". The driver no doubt is a good driver with experience on the track but with this car, thestock clutch bites midway of the whole clutch pedal travel. So.. maybe the driver blip the throttle (and normally.. on other cars) when he let go of the clutch, it should bite already but in this case, the revs dropped and then only bite. So.. what sifupoyo is saying is true.

Lets not provoke people lah... everyone (including myself), thinks we're above average but in reality, we cant drive for nuts. I appreciate comments to improve driving but dont laa bring peoples morale down. And also no need la to ask people to prove. I'm sure sifupoyor was only trying to help.

Just for info, i dont know who is sifupoyor or the driver on this video but I was there during the track day and everyone had fun. That's the main thing.

As for the driver in this video, nice driving but if you could improve on what sifupoyor said, you'd be much better on the tracks.

Cheers guys...
S