APRCMalaysiaMotorsportsNewsProton

Proton Makes A Return To The Asia Pacific Rally Championship With The Satria Neo S2000

proton-rally-team-2

PUTRAJAYA, 12 August 2009 – PROTON yesterday announced its return to the coveted FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) since its last participation in 2004. The FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship is one of the premier regional championships in World Rallying.

The PROTON R3 Malaysia Rally Team was introduced yesterdat at the premises of the Perdana Leadership Foundation in a ceremony officiated by PROTON Advisor, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad and witnessed by PROTON Holdings Berhad Chairman, Dato’ Mohd. Nadzmi Mohd. Salleh and Managing Director, Dato’ Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

proton-rally-team4

The PROTON R3 Malaysia Rally Team will be made up of APRC champion Karamjit Singh and his regular co-driver Jagdev Singh and a cosmopolitan team of engineers and technicians from Malaysia.

The proven Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 will be fielded for this return to competitive racing. The car recently created news waves when it finished 4th overall at the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) in Russia, driven by two-times British rally champion Guy Wilks. The participation in the IRC marked PROTON’s return to the global rally scene.

Dato’ Mohd. Nadzmi said, “It has been quite a while but we are now ready to return to the rally motorsports arena. With the Satria Neo Super 2000 and with our long time associate Karamjit, we are quite sure that we will put up a strong challenge in this championship.”

proton-rally-team-1

“What the new Proton Satria Neo S2000 has achieved thus far while still in the developmental stage has been extraordinary and we hope to continue improving as the year progresses,” he added.

Dato’ Syed Zainal Abidin explained that “As a car maker, our re-entry into the rally scene is significant as we strive to push forward our aspirations to be a global car manufacturer. Motorsports is an avenue for us to showcase our cars, their performance, technology and capabilities. What’s more important is the opportunity to learn and discover our cars’ capabilities in the extreme conditions of motorsports which we will be able to then translate into product development and improvement.”

He continued to say that “As we move on to strengthen our presence in our export markets, our participation in the global rally scene will help to enhance our brand visibility internationally and help build confidence towards our cars and the brand generally.”

The team’s participation in the APRC will see it competing in three rallies starting this Saturday, 15 August 2009 at the Malaysian Rally to be held in Johor followed by Rally Indonesia and China Rally in October and November respectively.

PROTON R3 Malaysia Rally Team’s Participation in the Asia Pacific Rally Championship 2009

15-16 August Malaysian Rally

03-04 October Rally Indonesia

14-15 November China Rally

M
  • M
    me
  • Aug 13, 2009
s2000 rocks
A
  • A
    Ayz
  • Aug 13, 2009
WOO HOO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
C
  • C
    crazy biscut
  • Aug 13, 2009
Ok i dont wanna be a Buzzkill but I saw this car BURNING on the move for the rear end in the British Rally Championship. I just hope that shit only happens once
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Aug 13, 2009
I didn't realize that A1 Team Malaysia is now rallying with Karam :) Look at their uniform :)
T
  • T
    teamsleepnine
  • Aug 14, 2009
crazy biscut...its not a buzz kill actually!!the car is actually leading the rally!!and some highjump somewhat bend the extractor!
and front bumper somewhat catch the heat and up in flames...
i dont know how that happen but that what i read somewhere in crash.net or autosport not sure but that what i read!!

yellow is our sports colour lah!!!i know lah you are a1 guys but like italian red as its official racing colour,england with its british green,malaysia go for yellow !!i wish we pick some other colours actually as our racing colour!!instead of using our athletes colour!!
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 14, 2009
At last Karam has a ride!
N