FeaturesSepang Drag Battle

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Rd.4 – 3000hp Dragsters and GTR’s

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (81)

Round 4 of the 2009 Sepang Drag Battle was a great Halloween treat as driver’s tricked out their rides to conquer the 400 meter run. There were the usual suspects of Evo’s, Subaru’s, Honda’s and Proton’s in attendance but gracing the event were sub-10 second cars from Thailand that didn’t compete but were there to liven things up and the star of the show, also from Thailand, was of course the Goodyear dragster.

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (106)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (107)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (1)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (104)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (119)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (123)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (67)

The dragster was scheduled to make two appearances throughout the event, but we only managed to catch it once during our stay there but that was good enough to leave a lasting impression. I guess that’s what 3000hp does to you not to mention the temporary deafness as it roars by. However, it only managed a very “normal” time of 10.4  seconds due to the length of the circuit’s pit-straight (dragsters need a longer straight for it to stop in time).

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (2)

The fastest competition car of the day was a Mitsubishi Evolution which clocked a time of  9.4-seconds.  But the  actual fastest car of the day was a 180SX brought in from Thailand for show, it outdid everyone by posting a time of 8. plus seconds. There was also a Nissan GTR R35 looking to conquer the 400 meter run but it too shamefully ran out of luck in the semi-finals. For full results and classification, click here, or you can check out the rest of the pictures by clicking on any of the thumbnails below.

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (33)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (35)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (38)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (40)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (65)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (87)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (111)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (117)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (129)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (133)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (135)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (137)

2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (11)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (115)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (114)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (113)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (110)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (111)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (118)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (116)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (119)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (123)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (124)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (121)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (137)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (136)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (14)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (26)2009 Sepang Drag Battle Round 4 (17)

J
  • J
    Jin
  • Nov 2, 2009
A very pleasant night~~!
M
  • M
    mag
  • Nov 2, 2009
What happened to the subaru?
M
i think its fire extinguisher powder. maybe caught fire or something.
T
  • T
    Timz
  • Nov 2, 2009
Yaya... but it finishes the 1/4 miles 1/4 race before White EVO 9...? I also saw 2 NOS tank inside the car...
A
Guys, do visit my site for more SDB coverage!

http://azmir1.blogspot.com/2009/10/round-4-sepang-drag-battle.html
K
  • K
    kaki_83
  • Nov 2, 2009
this car from malaysia not in thailand.rider only import in thailand. this car from setiawangsa racing in ukay perdana ampang.
J
  • J
    JY
  • Nov 2, 2009
I went and saw alot of satrias, kancils and civics... haiz
N
  • N
    NilsoN
  • Nov 2, 2009
got any videos about the Sepang Drag?
A
I've compiled a video from that night. Check it out here:

http://azmir1.blogspot.com/2009/11/sepang-drag-battle-video.html
J
  • J
    JEBOM
  • Nov 3, 2009
does anyone hve a result in each category..
J
  • J
    Jaspal
  • Nov 4, 2009
kaki 83 says that the car is from kl but tuned and engineered in Bangkok with Thai driver. Body hacked in Kulim.Powered by Ya Service not Malaysian technology or power. Anyway, great power and achievement. Success to Thailand.
W
  • W
    wej
  • Nov 5, 2009
jaspal, that's nice. dismissing two years of hard work like that. off course with the help from thais. there is no secret about that. what is a big deal about tuning 700hp car? nowadays everybody and their father can tune a car....
M
  • M
    melugaiiii
  • Nov 5, 2009
Jaspal you seems to know a lot about the making of 180sx.. Hurmm are you 1 of the engineer, staff or anyone involve in the making of 180sx?? Coz as far as i know that 180sx is not like what you are telling to people. Thanx for the compliment.. Success to Malaysian guys as well for packing a good team with Thais... Good job Setiawangsa Racing..
J
  • J
    Jaspal
  • Nov 5, 2009
Thai power is still Thai power. Accept it. If you build your own then you take credit. If you did not then it is ok. No need to be upset.
W
  • W
    wej
  • Nov 6, 2009
so can't be thai + malaysian power? otherwise zali & yl enginerring will be upset if the credit is not given to them.
J
  • J
    judge
  • Nov 8, 2009
200sx Setiawangsa Racing Body made by zali penang & YL Engineering Nilai
Engine fully Build by Setiawangsa Racing
Tuning by Setiawangsa Racing
Rider Import from Thailand

JASPAL????
Claim Credit
What a Shame
J