ArticlesFeaturesGadgets / Lifestyle

ZTH Visits ‘Permaisuri’ – The BlingRimKings of Jakarta

dsc_84471Isn’t it amazing how even car enthusiast have their own following, it’s like a club within a club. With so many design choices these days, you can never just be an enthusiast anymore, some go the VIP way, you also have the racer boy, then you have the ICE guys, and then it’s the whole extreme mods thing that has cars decked out in the most extreme of extreme bodykits and rims and whatever.

dsc_8553

I also think it’s amazing how different designs represent a certain region, area, city or country, something like how a low-riding ‘67 Chevy Impala represents the American gangster either side of its coasts. That’s also something I noticed when we covered the Indonesian International Motorshow recently, but it doesn’t involve any gangsters. It seemed as if every car that caught my attention came tearing out of a DUB magazine, everything from its 26” rims and candy paint, to its presidential tint was immaculate. I only came across the typical Malaysia car with lightweight rims, carbon fiber and a big-ass intercooler once every two days. Indonesians love their bling so I went out in search of the source of all that chrome.

dsc_8446

I didn’t go on an Indiana Jones type of quest for the bling but I meant to make you think that. Already having asked a few people back in Malaysia, I knew exactly where to go, who to meet and what to do. Permaisuri or Permaisuri Ban as locals know it is something like your regular tyre shop, it even looks like it too but it’s the only stop for Jakartians to get the latest, biggest, craziest rims. It has been around for more than 30 years now and a lot has happened over those years.

dsc_8487

The Managing Director, Wibowo Santosa ran me through the history of his shop. Among all those things he said one point particularly caught my attention, when the business first started out, almost all of its sales staff comprised of attractive young women, hence the name Permaisuri, which ironically translates to Queen or in this context Queens. Business naturally picked up with the occasional ups and downs and here we are today, with the building almost exactly how it was 30 years ago but minus all the attractive women sadly, got me all excited about it too.

dsc_8484

From the outside, it’s your typical tyre shop with rims being showcased at the window display but one thing that sets it apart from the rest is the type of cars parked outside. I visited on a weekday and had a Mercedes S-Class, ML and SL greeting me at the entrance, not cars for your average tyre shop. Walk through the door and you have to squint your eyes to keep the glare from all the rims from blinding you, there are easily over a 100 different rims of all colour, size and design’s in here.

dsc_8481

Permaisuri gets its rims from all over the world and carries almost every type of brand, no wannabes here, there’s nothing other than the real deal. They carry everything from TechArt for your Porsche to Vellano for your Maserati and even the famous Giovanna’s find a temporary home here, but there’s one thing you won’t find and that’s something Malaysians might find odd. There is a lack of lightweight rims for your carbon-fibered, turbocharged, 500hp, race machine a.ka Japanese rice burner, and that is because demand for such rims is just about non-existent. But that doesn’t mean they don’t have it, of course they have it, and they have nothing short of the standards set by OZ and Rays for those pesky Malaysians that come by and ask for such things.

dsc_8505

dsc_8433
As I stood in awe with camera snapping away, a few customers walked in, made their choices and left. I swear I heard them close the deal in what little Indonesian I understood but then they would leave and I was somewhat flabbergasted that some rich person can just walk in, say he’ll buy something then just leave. Wibowo sensing my confusion explained that their driver would later return with the car and have the chosen rim fitted. That cleared things up but there was this customer that had his car fitted while I was there, this gave me the chance to watch the entire choosing, buying, and fitting process of the typical Permaisuri customer.

dsc_0272

The process is somewhat similar to what we Malaysians are used to, you know, drive over to the shop, check out the collection, make a pick, enquire about it, get convinced that it’s the only choice for you, agree, have your rim fitted, pay and leave. Right? Wrong! At Permaisuri, customers are King, the entire process is the same except you get to have your rim fitted to your car just to see whether or not they suit your car, and if they don’t, you get to pick again, in other words, you get to ‘test’ the rim. Where our local rim dealers will tell you to go xxx yourself, the guys at Permaisuri obligingly climb up ladders to reach the rim of your choice just to put it back again just because you suddenly realized it’s not chrome enough for you.

dsc_8426

Actually, it’s a feature of Permaisuri, that’s because it does not only stock up great rims, they also stock technologically advanced machines that can fit and remove tyres without so much as laying a mechanical finger on it. This allows new rims to stay new and judging from the customers that walked in that day, they would have nothing short of the best.

dsc_0253

So as my shoot came to an end and I was packing up, Wibowo mentioned that Permaisuri can also customize the center cap of your rim. You can have your ex’s name there, your dog’s paw, your signature or anything you want, in fact, if the price is right, you can also customize your own rim design, what more could you want? Heck you could have a different center cap for every day of the week, something like Jay-Z but he has different car’s for every day of the week.

dsc_8527

As much as I love cars that go insanely fast and have not really come to terms with the VIP look, that trip to Permaisuri opened my eyes to a different side of the story. You may not be the only one who can afford a Maserati or any car for that matter, but you can definitely make it stand out from the rest. I can also understand why Indonesians are into the entire VIP thing, with tiny roads that stay gridlocked for hours, it would be hard to imagine where you could stretch 500hp. So if you’re going to be stuck in traffic for a few hours, might as well do it in style, especially when you have Permaisuri around, the BlingRimKings of Jakarta, Indonesia.

dsc_8523

Check out the blinging gallery below

DSC_8533DSC_8542DSC_8560DSC_0293DSC_0283DSC_8451DSC_0258DSC_8516DSC_0302DSC_8480DSC_8509DSC_8433DSC_0261DSC_0272DSC_8510DSC_8476DSC_0256DSC_8478DSC_8496DSC_8447DSC_8498DSC_8507DSC_8505DSC_8446DSC_0294DSC_8469DSC_0307DSC_8490DSC_8467DSC_8428DSC_8495

Find out more about Permaisuri at: www.permaisuri.com

Thank You’s:
Muhamad Balbed for setting this up.
Wibowo Santosa Managing Director of Permaisuri for his patience, time and care.
Permaisuri staff and drivers.
Everyone involved in the shoot.

I
  • I
    izso
  • Aug 14, 2008
Nice. But I'm simply guessing there aren't many rim shops in Indonesia? Like in Klang, throw a coin anywhere and it'll land in a rim/tyre shop.
M
  • M
    mie77
  • Aug 14, 2008
I've jus came back from a shopping trip in Jakarta and Bandung,the jams there are 2-3x worse than in KL,at least their way of driving is much more polite than in KL...but one thing for sure,u dont see many lowered cars in Jakarta due to the fact of the road conditions etc mega humps and crazy incline parking ramps..rim shops are plenty if u know where to find them,summore their way of sellin 2ndhand rims is to display it by the roadside,stacked on the kerb itself,so u can "drive-by" n see the choices available..incredible when u see it for the 1st time...
M
  • M
    mr eLL
  • Aug 14, 2008
wow what a great nice rim.
so how about the price? is there cheaper then in Malaysia?
not really.. anywhere from RM15,000 to RM50,000++.. just about the same price as here..
M
  • M
    minivan
  • Aug 14, 2008
Indonesian who are 'rich' are really-really-really rich... dun play-play...
Y
  • Y
    yoyo
  • Aug 14, 2008
its a big mistake if you are saying there are not may rim shops in jakarta.hehe.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 14, 2008
These wheels only cater to the rich. The only comoner car you took is only the civic. Such wheels shop are also available in KL. But us guys who only dream of owning such wheels would probabaly never step foot in such shops. Unless they stock cheap Taiwan clones.
Y
  • Y
    yoyo
  • Aug 15, 2008
haha.actually they did stock taiwan clones, pretty sure about it.but i dont think zth will photoshoot a toyota avanza on taiwan wheels, right?indeed permaisuri is one of the biggest wheel shop in indo.go, om bowo!:)
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 15, 2008
Yeah.... but then how many common cars you will see shopping for wheels in such high profile shops? I mean look at the pictures on 1 day keshy was there itself!! Maserati, Mercs... God knows there would be some other cars that cost a gazillion rupiah that haunt such places. hehehe. Over here its niche market. But there seems like its normal nicely laid out wheel shop. Crazy!
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Aug 15, 2008
so no need the shop to be too posh... as long as the rims are the real deal. :) . unlike ere...
B
  • B
    bien335
  • Aug 15, 2008
wah!

cantik sungguh mobil sama velg!

nanti mau menampal bannya

waduh waduh.

kepala bikin pusing!
    2point9
  • Aug 15, 2008
interesting outlet but since the price is some sort rm15k onwards then i think its not worth it . Totally agree with netmatrix , such shops do exist here in malaysia ..
X
  • X
    xenith
  • Aug 18, 2008
Hey, I've been there before...
A
  • A
    amzarie
  • Aug 21, 2008
nice rim,but they must use adjustable spring...more money dude...
D
are there any shops like this in kl? if so, can anyone please tell me where is it.
D