ArticlesFeaturesHondaTest Drives

Zerotohundred Goes Green With The Civic Hybrid

dsc_4728Lets face it, the world is a much filthier place than it was 20 years ago and everyone is to blame though us motorist get most of the rap. I don’t quite understand that though considering that a 747 flying across the Atlantic emits much more pollution than an entire season of Formula 1 combined. I’m not playing the blame game here and I’m also not suggesting we do, I’m advocating we do something about this catastrophe. Sure the actual time to do that has long passed but better late than never.

dsc_4698

So what does Zerotohundred have to do with all this? Well actually, we have everything to do with it. We can’t just sit around and watch everybody mess up our lovely planet and have legislators ban cars, our bread and butter. We might just find ourselves in a i-Robot kind of situation where cars drive us instead of us driving cars. What are we going to write about in the future? How “programmable” a car is? To avoid such a nightmare, we went out and tested one of the most prominent vehicles in Hybrid technology, the Honda Civic Hybrid in the hope that we can put across the different technologies that are available for the same purpose with less of a carbon foot print.

dsc_4679

From the outside, it looks like every other Civic on the road, except for its distinctive colour and futuristic wheels, there is nothing that hints about it running on Hybrid technology, except for the badge of course. Get in, and again the similarities are obvious. The tanned leather interior is one that is again unique to the Hybrid but besides that, the only give away is the rev meter cluster with its Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) and battery charge level indicator. The interior is really a great place to be in just as it is with any other Civic, but the one thing that separates the two is the drive.

dsc_4713

Driving the Hybrid around really does make you feel good about yourself because not only are you being kind to your own wallet, you are being kind to everyone and everything around you as well, even the air. This is because the Civic Hybrid meets a very stringent US rating called Advanced Technology Zero Partial Emission Vehicle (AT-PZEV). To achieve AT-PZEV status, a vehicle must be a Super-Ultra-Low-Emission Vehicle (SULEV) with zero-evaporative emissions. To achieve that every 2008 Civic Hybrid has a plastic-resin fuel tank that helps control evaporative emissions, keeping them to near-zero levels.

dsc_4732

In my travels with the Civic Hybrid, I covered more than 800km from Port Dickson to Ipoh to Penang to Cameron Highlands and then back to KL. More than enough time to get to know the Hybrid intimately, and that’s what I did. I realized that for a 1.3liter engine, it was very zippy and was always eager to get it going. It’s no Type-R, but a simple technology called Integrated Motor Assist couples a 1.3liter, 4-cyliner, 8-valve i-Vtec petrol engine with an electric motor to get the job done.

dsc_4671

The IMA provides additional power via a permanent-magnet electric motor that is mounted between the engine and transmission and when coupled with the engine, they both produce a total of 110hp@6000rpm. The motor also functions as a generator for the IMA system during deceleration, storing energy that it can later use to help with acceleration.

dsc_4675

Another prominent feature in the Civic Hybrid is called “idle-stop”, it temporarily turns off the engine to save fuel and minimise emissions. It’s pretty trippy at first if you’re not aware of it, but a green auto-stop light on the instrument display quickly helps you realize that it’s a feature built into the car, and that a bad news phone call to Honda Malaysia is not required. The engine restarts as soon as the brake pedal is released and the entire circle happens again the next time you’re at the lights.

dsc_4822

The Civic Hybrid is also all about fuel economy and is at its best in city driving. To attain absolute fuel mileage, Honda commissions a variety of technologies, one of them being something we are quite familiar with, continuous variable transmission (CVT). Similar to an auto transmission, CVT replaces the gearing in traditional transmissions with a metal push belt running between a pair of variable-width pulley. When combined with the Drive-by-Wire throttle system, the CVT provides increased fuel economy and acceleration as it adjusts itself to provide the most efficient drive ratio depending on torque load.

dsc_4820

I recorded fuel consumption at 12.9 to 13.5km/l at highway speeds but in city conditions, an impressive 16.4 to 17.5km/l was achieved. I was told that in extreme traffic conditions, consumption can be as low 24.5km/l. Sounds like the answer to your prayers doesn’t it? When asked about the system, Honda explained, “When the Hybrid is cruising at highway speeds, the 1.3L i-VTEC petrol engine supplies the drive. The IMA assists only when overtaking or a burst of acceleration is required in these highway conditions. The IMA is at it’s peak and supplies the drive during traffic conditions of below 40 km/h and during vehicle start up and when the car is completely stopped, e.g. at traffic lights.”

While writing this I found myself thinking, why is it that such a system has not been encouraged and implemented widely here in Malaysia? Shouldn’t every car be able to do this? It would definitely make the world a much better, greener, healthier place for everybody. Well, the truth is, the technology is still in its infancy and that makes it expensive to produce and implemented en masse. In countries such as the United States and some parts of Europe, Hybrid technology is widely encouraged. Celebrities endorse it and governments have tax break incentives for owners of Hybrid vehicles.

dsc_4694

That’s exactly what needs to be done here as well, to encourage people to save fuel and save the environment, tax break incentives and lower vehicle tax for Hybrid vehicles should be implemented. For your information, the Civic Hybrid currently retails for slightly above RM170,000. It saves you petrol, saves the environment and helps people live healthier lives, should we really be made to pay more for going green?

DSC_4680DSC_4671DSC_4649DSC_4679DSC_4728DSC_4684DSC_4689DSC_4734DSC_4818DSC_4805

Here's some other questions I asked Honda for the article:

Q: The start/stop motor works excellently, but doesn't a car consume more petrol when starting up than when idling for as long as it takes a traffic light to turn green?

A: The pistons are still in motion, as the crankshaft is connected to the electric motor which has taken over. The intake valves are closed and there is no air/fuel mixture injected into the cylinders. During the start up, the electric motor provides most of the required torque at startup to assist the petrol engine and the crankshaft is already in motion and fuel consumption depends on how much the driver is stepping on the acceleration pedal.

Q: How long will the batteries last? What happens after 30 months of not starting up the engines? Can the batteries be repaired?

A: The IPU (Intelligent Power Unit) which also houses the battery will last at least 8-10 years*. The battery cannot be repaired and will have to be replaced at a cost.
P
  • P
    Papagoines
  • Jul 31, 2008
With diesel now nearing petrol price these days... why won't we upgrade the diesel quality? Look at diesel cars at Europe, they offers fuel savings via super efficient diesel engines and have pace like a normal petrol and sometimes more....

There's many research proved that a good and efficient diesel car can save more than any hybrid can
I
  • I
    izso
  • Jul 31, 2008
True on the diesel comment.

It's a pity our local govt is too busy fussing over other things than to be bothered with improving the environment. I would love to own a car thats as big as a Civic but provide Myvi-like FC.

On the other hand however : Top it up a bit more and get yourself a Type-R. You maybe killing the environment faster, but it's one helluva way to go down!
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Jul 31, 2008
Our diesel is of low quality. In fact some time back, there was a test by BMW when they lauched the 530D that our diesel quality is "adequete".

With diesel, its all about torque.

Anyway keshy, did you ask how much the batteries cost to replace?..... "grinning". Also how much kilometres do you get on a full tank? 700km-1000km?
M
  • M
    mr ell
  • Jul 31, 2008
This is a great technology for saving the environment and our money.

But our government should be more alert and encourage people to use this such of technology. and our government should make this kind of technology free from expensive government tax so that we can buy and used or own this kind of technology (car)
Yes i did ask.. but Im still unsure of the answer.. ask to the km's you get on a full tank.. that would depend on your driving style.. as suggested.. the hybrid works well for city use as it consumes much less petrol then.. as to driving on highways.. the consumption is higher cuz the car is powered solely by the engine.. during deceleration.. it recharges the battery.. the battery then helps with bursts of acceleration up to.. Im guessing 100km/h.. anything above that.. and the engine is on its own.. hence the slightly higher fuel consumption..
J
  • J
    JINEIL2EN
  • Aug 1, 2008
can i know, the fuel consumption of this Civic Hybrid, in terms of KM/Liter or RM/KM.
Thanks.

just hope not only 16-18KM/L in highway...coz my 1.6L auto old junk oredy hits 18Km/Liter in NSE when trip to JB & back to KL....
it's listed in the article dude..
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Aug 3, 2008
the electric motor starts the engine dude...as stated in the article... :)
why dont develop diesel hybrid? best of both worlds
B
  • B
    bb1-man
  • Aug 3, 2008
Quote: Lets face it, the world is a much filthier place than it was 20 years ago and everyone is to blame though us motorist get most of the rap. I don’t quite understand that though considering that a 747 flying across the Atlantic emits much more pollution than an entire season of Formula 1 combined.

- Uhh...I think its because aviation only contributes to about less than 10 percent of CO2 emissions and harmful gases in the atmostphere. Compared to Automobiles who are contributing about 20 percent. (I might be slightly skewed with the numbers, but you get my drift. automobiles of the world release double the CO2 compared to planes in the world.)

so of course, motorists get more rap compared to the aviation world. bad comparison to make there bro.
that's quite true.. automobiles do cause double damage.. but its not to say that the aviation sector doesn't pollute.. Please correct me if Im wrong but what really bothers me is.. We don't see the aviation sector doing anything to help reduce emissions.. No news of Hybrid or alternatively fueled planes..

With that kind of ignorance.. It's only time before the aviation sector takes over from the automobile sector the crown for the biggest polluter..
A
  • A
  • Aug 4, 2008
i think the editor was thoughtful when comparing with the f1 races which was recently subjected to public criticism for pollution..

anyways, i found out that there is an estimated 750 million automobiles worldwide, and there is less than 500,000 aircraft and choppers in the world..

i say revolutionize the aviation technology.. more solar power maybe, since they are always up there? kekeke..
J
  • J
    JINEIL2EN
  • Aug 4, 2008
"izso on July 31st, 2008 11:16 am

On the other hand however : Top it up a bit more and get yourself a Type-R. You maybe killing the environment faster, but it’s one helluva way to go down!"

The K20A Type-R of FD2R r a lot way more clean than any Japanese engine in market(Except Hydrofuel or Hybrid Type vehicle). haha...
B
  • B
    bb1-man
  • Aug 4, 2008
FYI boeing and airbus, together with engine manufacturers rolls royce and GE has already launched initiatives and test flights using alternative fuels, namely biofuel sourced from barbassu nuts and oils.

rather than arguing between aviation vs automotive (which is very difficult really. 750 million automobs worldwide, but only 500,000 aircrafts, but automobs carry max of 4 to 7, not counting single occupant vehicles. a typical widebody a/c carries 200-300 pax)

again, rather than arguing between these two very different fields, id rather complain about why our gahmen has yet to introduce initiatives to favour greener cars. lower taxes, lower prices for hybrid cars....etc...etc. just like how the developed nations have done. encourage people to buy more cars like this civic hybrid.
R
  • R
    red myvi
  • Aug 4, 2008
i just want to know is this car need petrol how the fuel work for this car? or it just need a gas like NGV? i keep wonder how this car can move around? plz assist me....
K
Only 12.9 to 13.5km/l at highway speeds? Thats worse that the current Honda City. And furthermore the article on 21 October 08 says the car can give up to 31 km/l? So are the claims of super efficient engine really true?
D
  • D
    DET
  • Dec 24, 2008
Much of the United States, Canada and Europe is in a major cold snap right now. Global temperatures have stabilized or even gone down the past ten years. It's time to get off this kick that global warming or climate change is going to destroy the earth. The reason to use less oil is so that we can depend less on energy sources found in parts of the world with unstable and repressive governments.
W
Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for first aid for a heart attack and your post looks very interesting for me.
W