GT-RLamborghiniNewsNissanVideos

Video: Nissan GTR vs Lamborghini Murcielago LP640 Drag Race

lambo-gtrrSlightly less than a year after its introduction, the Nissan GTR has faced numerous comparisons against equivalent or far greater competition. The R35 has turned out on top almost all the time and even when it does appear less victorious, its on unequal grounds. Take this video for example, would you really race a 6 cylinder against a beast of a V12 in the shape of a Lamborghini Murcielago LP640, but the guys shooting the video obviously thought its a fair comparison, I’m not leaking out the result of the rolling start drag, but its pretty dramatic and shows just how accomplished the six cylinder engine of the GTR is compared to the 12 cylinders of the Lamborghini.

A
  • A
  • Aug 4, 2008
i think in engineering calculations, which then adopted in drag racing, rally, or endurance, forced induced engine is equivalent to base engine capacity times a factor of 1.7, and rotary engine is time 3.06?

so, 3.8litre x 1.7 = 6.46.. that's similar to the Lambo's 6.5L.. kekeke..

i think the lambo was ahead even before the start.. not fair..:D
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Aug 4, 2008
Hmmm.. Do remember that the GTR has already wiped out most of its competitor who has a higher engine capacity than the GTR. But to cry foul when one of those beasts gobbled up the GTR is immature. The GTR is equivalent to most supercars which houses engine that are almost double in capacities of the GTR.

And Adam, what makes up the 1.7 and the factor of 3.06 for rotary?
A 1.3l rotary = 1.3 x 3.06 = 3.978l?
How bout engine with superchargers? And bi-turbo? And turbo rotary?
A
  • A
  • Aug 4, 2008
i think if i remember correctly, the 1.7 and 3.06 is the Pressurization Primer, which is related to volumetric air flow and mass flow.. if memory serves me right, volumetric efficiency (VE) of an engine is the ratio of the volume of air that enters the cylinders to the actual engine displacement. The air intake system on turbocharged engine is designed to increase the air density when the engine is under load to improve power output. That's why better air filter=better air flow AND more fuel will produce more power...

as for superchargers, shud be the same as turbo (i tried to enter my s/c car a while back, same class as turbo, damn).. but then we have screw type, twin-screw, turbine etc.. i've no clue on bi-turbo, turbo rotary etc.. i doubt my old-school text book on engine dynamics and volumetric efficiency would cover these new engines.. unless we have an automotive engineer in the house who can clarify this off-hand?

a factory developed 'racing' engine are configured to achieve the highest VE. that's why, they have awards for BEST ENGINES OF THE YEAR. it's certainly not the most 'powerful' engine around, it's the most 'power-efficient'..

that's why MOST turbo engines, say the 2.0 litre (equivalent to 3.4litre NA) is considered 'not-efficient', but they make up with high torque from the turbo.. that's why 280hp turbo can tapau even 300hp NA.. It's really tough to produce highly efficient NA engines such as the type-r, //M engines or even the current F1 engines which produces 100hp per litre.. then again, it's not purely hp, the torque curve too.. 2.0litre BMW engines are MUCH faster than 2.0litre type-r engines in sepang.. they are lapping 5-6 seconds faster in the recent AFOS.. ever wonder how come?

i think if we know all these, we would appreciate more on the engineering sense.. not just slap big turbo and big injectors and get 1000hp cars.. fyi, the veyron engine having 8 litre and 4 turbos is highly criticized in automotive journals and case-studies for taking the 'shortcut', not just the GTR.. though the W16 config is an engineering marvel.. for a road car, without 'proper' aerodynamics, it's a big feat for the veyron to achieve over 400km/h, and for the 6.46 litre GTR to TAPAU most supercars including the carrera gt's 5.7 litre.. for the record, i love the GTR, for the price!

i better stop here.. i stand to be corrected.. ;)
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Aug 4, 2008
Who doesn't love the GTR? It's a package full of technology! It's the whole package not just the VR38DETT! The plasma sprayed bores, the ATTESA ET-S all wheel drive system and the list goes on..

We all celebrate when the GTR managed to triumph over it's much larger competition but cry foul when they manage to inch in front of the GTR. What I'm getting at here is, it's normal if a larger capacity engine manage to beat the GTR. For example the latest corvette.

Adam you sound like an automotive engineer. By any chance are you one? Or are you somehow related to the industry besides being a hardcore fan? Oh one more thing, rotary is quite an old technology, turbo rotary is too.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 4, 2008
The LP640 is a tuned version of the Murcielago. It should take on a V-Spec version of GTR.

And why didn't they have a standing start rather than a rolling start? The reviewers already know the outcome of a standang start. So they make a rolling start for these cars.
A
  • A
  • Aug 4, 2008
i'm no automotive engineer, but mechanical.. learnt a bit on the mechanicals of the engines.. that's why my points are based on what i remembered, vaguely.. hehee.. i'm sure there are automotive engineers in ZTH that are well versed with current technology and setups.. guys from lotus? r3? honda?

i'm still learning, just like you.. :D
A