AFOSATCSAuto EventsFormula BMWFormula V6 AsiaNewsPorsche Carrera Cup Asia

Thai Drivers Heading for Home Race

jack-lemvardLocal Touring car ace, Jack Lemvard and Formula car racing hero Robert ‘Chawakij’ Boughey are both looking forward to heading to Thailand for their home race during the Asian Festival Of Speed at the Bira Circuit in Pattaya next month. Lemvard, currently leads the Asian Touring Car Series leaderboard while Boughey has only competed in one round of the Formula Asia 2.0 so far.

Lemvard just completed a perfect weekend at Sentul International Circuit in July and is looking forward to repeating his stellar performance at a circuit he grew up racing in. The 23 year old driver was given a further boost by his team and sponsor, Ocean 1, with a promise of a drive in the World Touring Car Series should he win the Championship this year. “We are far ahead in the points now and it would be hard for anyone to catch up. So it looks like my dream is coming true” said a very excited Lemvard.

Speaking to him after the AFOS event in Sentul, the Liqui Moly Team Engstler driver is clearly looking forward to being home. “Bira is my home track, I practice there almost every weekend so I know every corner and every thing about the circuit. I will also be racing in the Thailand Touring Car races there at the same time as AFOS so it will be exciting”.

robert-chawakij-boughey

This has been a busy year for Lemvard, participating in a total of five touring car races around Asia and he looks set to compete in at least one round of the World Touring Car Championship.

As for Boughey, who is known in Thailand as Chawakij, a name given to him by Her Majesty Princess Sirinthon of Thailand, which means activities of speed, he had his first and only outing in Round 3 of the Formula Asia 2.0 during the season opener at the Sepang International Circuit. The 25 year old driver was rushed to the circuit in time for Round 3 and completer a brilliant race in fourth, despite losing his front wing at the start of the race following a brush with his teammate. But the circuit’s damp conditions, meant that he did not need much downforce, allowing him to be able to catch up to the front.

For Boughey, “I am looking forward to the race in Thailand even though in the past I’ve had terrible experiences. 2004 with Formula BMW I rolled my car in practice and in 2005 I crashed into the wall totally destroying my car! Maybe the 3rd time will be a charm. I’m just hoping to give my best for this race because I do have an incredible amount of support from the media and public here and I hope that this time some good luck will come my way!”

The 2004 Formula BMW Asia Rookie of the Year will be participating in the Formula Asia 2.0 Series in Thailand with March 3 Racing, teaming up with five other great racers, Championship leader Felix Rosenqvist of Sweden, Benjamin Rouget from France, Zhu Dai Wei and Zhang Zhen Dong from China and the only female driver in the Series, Samin Gomez of Venezuela.

Rounds 8, 9 & 10 of the Asian Touring Car Series and Rounds 6 & 7 of the Formula Asia 2.0 will be held during the Asian Festival Of Speed at the Bira Circuit in Pattaya, Thailand on the 15-17 August 2008. The  newly introduced Asian Touring Car Super 1500Max Challenge will also be in the line-up at the circuit.