FerrariFormula 1News

Schumacher Involved In 250km/h Crash At Nurburgring

schumacher-test-z-02_140207When you’re born to race, you do it whenever you can, but if you’re a retired seven time Formula 1 world champion, you do it every way you can. That’s exactly what Michael Schumacher has been up to recently, racing motorbikes in Germany at one time and falling off them at another time, but that’s not all. It helps to be credited with resurging the most succesful team in Formula 1 ever, Michael is now one of the leading developers for Ferrari cars, almost personally fine tuning every new model that rolls out of Maranello. But things are not that flowery all the time.

Once in a while, he finds himself heading for some wall at 250km/h at one of the most important tracks in the history of racing. According to reports, Ferrari rented the track for the multiple world champion to develop a prototype Ferrari believed to be based on the 430 Scuderia. Just days after he presented the Ferrari California to dealers in Maranello, Schumi found himself in the very uncomfortable position of being passenger in a largely carbon fiber based car at Formula 1 speeds.

Reports suggest that he was not alone, while some reports indicate that Schumi had his son Mick riding with him, others say that he was riding passenger with ferrari test driver Raffaele Desimone behind the wheel when they went off on a damp high speed corner at the Nurburgring Nordschleiffe.

Either way, everyone walked away uninjured. As to what car Schumacher was developing, speculations suggest that it could be the successor to the F430 or the discontinued Enzo.

“Michael called me and said ‘We have crashed the car but are going to continue with another one’,” Schumacher’s spokeswoman Sabine Kehm confirmed.

No further details or photos are available as yet.

P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Jul 29, 2008
wat a dream job he had...testing ferraris...
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Jul 30, 2008
and he never test Kancil 660 yet...
S