ArticlesFormula 1NewsWeird

Is F1 Becoming The Most Corrupted Sport?

diapo_328What is racing? How would you define racing? From my own point of view, racing is about being the fastest and beating your rivals to the chequered flag. That’s why you would take the risks necessary to win, i.e., entering a corner at 200km/h knowing you’re going in too fast but have no choice because the guy behind you wants your position. So what do you do then? Well if your are experienced and skilled enough, you wait for that moment when your car looses control and hope you have the skill to reel it back in, if you’re not skilled enough, that’s when you hope you make it through so you can bag those precious points. Now imagine the situation in professional racing where every point is as valuable as discovering an oil field.

hamilton-spa-z-006_070908

Take this past weekends Formula 1 race at Spa, Belgium for example, those of you who watched the race would have to admit that the battle between Kimi Raikkonen and Lewis Hamilton at the closing stages of the race was probably the most exciting in F1 since Michael Schumacher and Mika Hakkinen went all out for it back in the 90s. But the stewards had to ruin it just like they always do.

Lewis trailed race leader Kimi throughout the race after the pole sitter spun his Mclaren at the  La Source corner of the legendary Spa Francorchamps circuit. Kimi was never able to shake off  the championship leader and the  Finn only saw a lead that ranged from six to two seconds all through the  44-lap race. The final three laps  proved to be the most decisive as a light shower graced the race allowing Lewis who made great time and  eventually caught up to challenge Kimi for P1 and so he did.

diapo_334

As the two approached La Source, Lewis attempted to pass around the outside of the right-left turn – formerly known as the ‘bus stop’ – but with no room to go through as Kimi took his normal racing line, Lewis was dealt with the option to either go off track and keep P2 and bag the points or crash into Kimi and destroy the race for the both of them. So he did what any of us would have done and found himself ahead of Kimi, which is wrong because the gain was the product of using the run off area and Lewis knew that so he let Kimi pass him to regain the lead. But that decision although being the right decision no matter what the argument proved to be the worst right decision a pro racer could have made, or at least that’s what the race stewards think.

The stewards announced that Lewis gained from that move as he went on to use the Ferrari’s slipstream to eventually sling shot past Kimi to take the lead and because of that, awarded him with a 25-second penalty that saw Lewis loose two positions to take P3, and this was after the podium celebrations and press conference. I ask you, is using the slipstream wrong? Lewis was close enough to the Ferrari at the exit of the corner that he could have used the slipsteam anyway, he was in fact, already faster than the Ferrari but he made the decision to go off track, risking damage to his car and injuring himself and with some luck found himself in the same position again with a chance to catch the slipstream of the guy ahead.

diapo_335

This is racing!! Only those with quick thinking and right judgement come up ahead and that’s exactly what Lewis did but coming out ahead is something that has been erased with time as the ‘long arm’ of the stewards now stretches to making decisions over who gets ahead and who doesn’t. Was using the slipsteam wrong? Was going off track to avoid crashing wrong? Lewis did let Kimi through again but the stewards deemed “Hamilton did not properly allow Kimi Raikkonen to re-pass after overtaking the Ferrari driver by cutting the final chicane with just over two laps to go.”

diapo_336

What does properly mean? Let the Ferrari driver take a 10-second lead? Would that have been good enough? Or a 25-second lead? I’m sure that’s what the stewards feel Kimi should have won by, he is after all the driver of F1 darling, Ferrari. It’s not the first time such anti-Mclaren behavior has been displayed, there is enough evidence that goes back years to prove that all of F1’s top people are somehow biased against Mclaren.

diapo_344

Well why not? Ferrari after all has the largest fan base, imagine how much money F1 would loose if Ferrari kept loosing, or showed signs of a down fall in this post Schumi-Todt era. The fans would leave and F1 would be relegated to just another motorsport show, would anyone let that happen? I don’t think so, no matter what the cost.

podium-spa-z-003_070908

It’s the hard truth that F1 fans especially Mclaren fans have found hard to accept but had to anyway but here’s hoping that they can somehow do it without making it so f’in obvious. It hurts our feelings and leads us to make some nasty statements like, F1 is going to the dogs if their non-sportmanship behavior continues. As for Ferrari? Now I’m really convinced that the F in F1 stands for Ferrari 1. Here’s some other articles about the issue.

Niki Lauda Slams Hamilton Penalty

Drama, Penalties and Controversy at Spa Francorchamps

Hamilton States His Case

Mclaren To Appeal Hamilton Penalty

Image Credits: F1-Live.com

J
  • J
    jsdaemon
  • Sep 8, 2008
Hamilton built up his speed when ran off the track!!!
S
  • S
    speedevil
  • Sep 8, 2008
good issues~!
S
  • S
    stephan
  • Sep 8, 2008
i think d stewards have a point...sorry if mclaren are upset...u say hamilton was up kimi's ass at d corner...but i ask u..how come?? cuz he went 4 a move which was never gonna come off(kovalinen tried something similar earlier & was given a drive-thru)..hamilton was close only because he braked late...too late in fact...n he could not slow down...therefore going off d track n cutting d corner...coming back on giving back d lead but then sticking right behind in kimis slip stream(which he wouldnt have been in if he din cut d corner)...thats my point of view anyway... last season d FIA did not penalize hamilton for d spygate incident...as to allow him to continue fighting 4 d championship...if they were really ferrari 1 then wouldnt he have been given a points deduction then as well?? i dun think i have 2 ask about d punishment handed 2 hamilton 4 crashing into kimi in d pitlane taking him out of d race...
M
  • M
    muhd
  • Sep 8, 2008
Even if u drive like lewis in F1 playstation game, u also will need to go for drive thru.
S
  • S
    Shinjite
  • Sep 8, 2008
one question, then what is the chicane for?
V
  • V
    v12
  • Sep 8, 2008
ferrari was never not enough speed to leave THEM behind
good point stephan.. but u asked how come? well.. i think that's racing.. trying some daring moves is part of trying to get ahead.. and what if the move did come off? What if Kimi did see Lewis coming and moved aside to avoid a crash, which is a long shot by the way.. and sticking right behind kimi.. well that's racing again.. kimi could have warded off lewis from taking advantage of his slipstream by crisscrossing at the straight.. yes i know that would have slowed him down.. but lewis was already behind him.. the spygate saga? well toyota didnt get penalised AT ALL for having ferrari data.. and Hamilton didn't get penalised for crashing into kimi just the same way kimi didnt get penalised for crashing into one of the force india cars back at Monaco.. or the same way Schumacher didnt get penalised for blocking the monaco track during qualifying, and because of that no one else had a chance to better his time..

well there are a lot of issues.. but these are just some.. luv talking about F1.. so keep commenting.
B
  • B
    bushidofang
  • Sep 8, 2008
i dont support the club, i support the driver. go kimi. xD
D
  • D
    deacon
  • Sep 9, 2008
I haven't read all the comments but from reading the article alone, one thing is evident. The writer forgot to detach himself from the piece of writing.

At the end of the day, F1 isn't corrupt and penalties are just part of the game racers play. While many have resorted to saying "it's racing" for numerous opportunistic passes, the same can be said of the judgement handed down by the F1 governing body. We're all bound by rules racing or not. Just the way it is.
D
  • D
    defuser
  • Sep 9, 2008
well, iam a big fan of kimi, but i have to say that this was not a wise call by the FIA, damm i feel for you Hamilton.
L
  • L
    lampard
  • Sep 9, 2008
wow..the writer is so d**n bias to Mclaren..no hard feeling's though, me myself as a ferrari fan think hamilton deserve the win but there's always people with authority and rules to step up in the play. I saw the whole race. i think kimi and hamilton both got a good chance to win the race. Kimi however was unlucky because of the weather. had not been for the rain, kimi would have won it as i remember reading from lewis hamilton press conference, he was able to reduce the gap to kimi but he cannot pass it no matter what. It was very eventful and most interesting F1 race i've ever seen. After the race i was thinking what if kimi change his tyre to the wet tyres before the start of the penultimate lap and drive like a demon to pass hamilton back. I saw both Heidfeld and Alonso past a few driver to make up great places up on the grid. nevertheless that's just a thought and Kimi did crash after that and that's what cost him the race. Hamilton deserve the win and it's not a very wise decision by the stewards but you cannot say F1 is the most corrupted and bias just based on that. The drivers are pure and honest in what they do best which is racing. You yourself as journalist of motorsport should know better that you are being critically emotional bias.
P
  • P
    pitLane
  • Sep 9, 2008
i agree with lampard. U really want to question a FIA steward for their decision....? maybe change the topic title... or... maybe u can write it down on Hamilton fan club blogs or something....
S
  • S
    shah5755
  • Sep 9, 2008
i'm a big fan of massa actually, but after i heard about FIA decission bit dissapointed bcoz its ruin the hot fight for drivers title....but this is racing.......
S
  • S
    stephan
  • Sep 9, 2008
keshy...ya..F1 is always a great topic...i agree with trying daring moves...like outbraking another driver into a corner...but wut IMHO hamilton did to cut across d chicane like dat n then 2 get back into kimis slipstream was wrong...because by outbraking himself into d corner, if he had not cut across d chican but instead braked harder once he knew he din have space n cut back behind kimi...which would have been fair in my opinion... once in kimis slipstream there was nothing kimi could do...as hamilton forced kimi 2 lock his brakes into d chicane n kimi did not get a run out of d corner as well as hamilton did by cutting d chicane...n kimi could not block as d rule is dat u can only make one blocking maneuver(meaning u can only move right or left once to block someone from overtaking u) he couldnt swerve right n left 2 block or he wouldve been penalised as well...about kimi taking out suttil(which i was very disappointed with btw) it happend during d race where kimi lost control due 2 lack of temperature in his tyres... but wit hamilton he took kimi out in d pits...while d cars were stationary...
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Sep 9, 2008
sigh...and last few years "they" say F1 is anti-ferrari...now th eotehr way around...wow... DTMs then... :D
R
  • R
    rusifiz
  • Sep 9, 2008
I used to love the motoGP before.. then it faded and replaced by F1..
but now, I'm not bothered to watch F1 anymore.. too much technology for me...
they have great team effort, but F1 is just too "modern"
still prefer the old engine, car and driver combination, without much interference by the computer control
but then again, that's me.. hehehe
N
  • N
    novack
  • Sep 10, 2008
i think they have stripped of ABS,traction control n more more..but dunno bout the chips inside the engine (maybe?!) =P
L
  • L
    lonely driver
  • Sep 10, 2008
i smell a lot of tifosi here... me? lewis fan
L