Greddy/TrustNewsTuners

High Performance Parts – Greddy/Trust Declare Bankruptcy

greddy-rx8It’s a dark day for all Japanese rice burner and tuning enthusiast. In a world where the market is seemingly filled by pirated or dubious products claiming to do whatever more established brands can but for much less, our choices have now been limited. The next time you think about upgrading something in your car, you will sadly have to forget about TrusT/Greddy products as they are now officially bankrupt.

greddy_oil_cap_blue

Known as Trust in Japan and Greddy everywhere else in the world, the company has sunken into $60million debt and, after reporting a serious decline in sales since February 2008 and amassing $43 million in loan payments, filed for bankruptcy in Tokyo District Court.

Trust – established in 1976, employs around 200 workers and had been dealing in everything from CARB-legal exhausts to turbo systems when Greddy Performance Products was founded in the U.S. in 1994 and introduced into markets worldwide. Without a doubt, there will be several firms that will step up to fill the need of enthusiasts, assuming that Trust doesn’t try to reorganize, but with the Japanese aftermarket industry down overall, we suspect this won’t be the last time we’ll hear about a large tuner going under but let’s all hope we don’t as such news is never welcomed.

S
  • S
    sprinter
  • Sep 12, 2008
izzit true?humm bad news for motorsport company that prodeuce high performance product..
D
  • D
    dre42
  • Sep 12, 2008
this is not cool man... such a big name..
B
  • B
    brian84
  • Sep 12, 2008
alamak....what de......
how come...???
A
  • A
    arcurad
  • Sep 12, 2008
noooo........
N
  • N
    na_power
  • Sep 12, 2008
what a waste. its a big name...
N
  • N
    na_power
  • Sep 12, 2008
man, how can they bankrupt, their exhaust are the best... i feel it.. isk isk isk
T
  • T
  • Sep 12, 2008
This is why fake parts can really ruined a good company. I hate fake parts!!!
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Sep 12, 2008
yea agree... faker contribute this ruin..
W
  • W
    whitesouls
  • Sep 12, 2008
actually, we as consumers shud purchase original parts..purchasing cap ayam dan itik wont make any good on the long run..

such a big name..so sad..so sad..
F
  • F
    farkpirates
  • Sep 12, 2008
yes we must thanked to those ppl who bought fake products and supporting the fake industry. poserss...
N
  • N
    nakata86
  • Sep 12, 2008
to stop us buying fakes they should also produce affordable products. not everyone else in other parts of the world have high standards of living like japan. dont tell me u earn rm 3000 a month u wanna buy a rm 4000 exhaust meh? not feasible ma.
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Sep 12, 2008
haha....who's next?
Y
  • Y
    Yoshi
  • Sep 12, 2008
E-manage price going to shoot up~!
S
  • S
    skyancient
  • Sep 12, 2008
so sad to read this news... and is a surprise to all of us~! >.<
I
  • I
    imoloq
  • Sep 12, 2008
U mean they r no longer making e manage??????
S
  • S
    stanleycmw
  • Sep 12, 2008
Pity Trust / GReddy had became one of the victims for the fake-things... Just wondering which brand is next...HKS?
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Sep 12, 2008
next??...proton
G
  • G
    genny
  • Sep 12, 2008
wat a wasted...sob sob...
L
  • L
    Lennon
  • Sep 12, 2008
Production in Japan is costly..... They should do what Wallmart do to survive......
E
  • E
    evo4g63
  • Sep 12, 2008
oh my god... why?
J
  • J
    JasonKid
  • Sep 12, 2008
I guess HKS won't be the next, as their strategies are totally different with other brand ~

HKS set up different pro shop in a lot of country other than just giving out distributor...
Like N1 Racing in Malaysia, Garage R in Singapore, SHH Pro Shop in Brunei, Top Racing in Hong Kong, all these are HKS tuning pro shop that always keep contact with HKS Japan. They also focus on foreign car like VW Golf GTi, BMW with supercharger. Now they starting to develop Hipermax suspension for foreign car too.

In future, I wonder JUN Auto will getting which company turbo for their tuning? They usually use Trust turbo part for tuning their super lemon engines... Will they shift to using HKS part? Or using some US product? Since their piston is being manufactured by Cosworth Racing.

Next will be? Power Enterprise? TODA Racing?
J
  • J
    jugde
  • Sep 12, 2008
Very very sad......
J
  • J
    jugde
  • Sep 12, 2008
then mutiara in jb how?
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Sep 13, 2008
Mutiara motors seem to distribute their stuff only. If they don;t have Greddy to sell, they still sell cars! It would be interesting how they handle customers which bought Greddy stuff recently.
N
  • N
    no horse run
  • Sep 13, 2008
i think it is not those fake part who made them went bankruptcy, is bcos of the rise of china, the manufacture cost is so damn cheap which cause all these japanese big boys product hard to sell in country like malaysia.

i agreed with wat natak86 said, earn 4k to buy 5k parts? no way man~

back to those dayz when there are no china made engine performance parts, i used to go all the chop shops to find all the "used" good stuff, but look at now, we can have ZAP intercooler, WORKS engineering, D2 brakes system and all the taiwanese brand who manufactured in China, bla bla bla and so on, all made in China! same chop shop price but it's new and the quality stil ok lar, not as good as japs stuff la of cos. the point is, all my frens are using ZAP intercooler rather than apexi, trust or hks now, becos it is cheap and boleh pakai mar.

hope that all the japs tuner will switch thier plant to china, so that everyone like me in the world will be very happy.
L
  • L
    lapsap25
  • Sep 13, 2008
Omg..such a shocking news..
K
  • K
    kamen rider #1
  • Sep 13, 2008
e manage price gonna shoot up ?...

great....

If e manage defect, where u gonna send back ?...

keramat letrik ?...

it will spell e damage then...

pathetic...
K
  • K
    kazar
  • Sep 13, 2008
aiyak im a big fan of greedy parts..no..!!!
L
  • L
    lonely driver
  • Sep 13, 2008
so cham...! no more greddy type s / type r BOV liao...
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Sep 13, 2008
First off there was Apexi, now Greddy/Trust.. The disappointment never ends...
G
  • G
    GT_AUTO
  • Sep 13, 2008
imho...yes,fake/imitation part do contribute to their failure as a japanese
performance part manufacturer power house.but you all can't blame solely on that.
i don't see hks& blitz suffer that seriously.it's all up to their engineering
marvel, r&d and price too.i think some big company will take over trust/greddy
n turn it around.hopefully it will still be the big player in the japanese motorsport
scene.
K
  • K
    krayzee_wu82
  • Sep 13, 2008
saper2 yg baru beli e-manage yg brand new...
heheheh...payah la nak claim warranty kalau aper2 jadi...
J
  • J
    jay_ek9
  • Sep 13, 2008
Damnn im a big Fan of Greddy.....
even my calculator got their sticker......

they make great turbos tho'

=(
H
  • H
    html
  • Sep 13, 2008
you could order from greddy USA.....now the parent company which is trust japan...is getting protection from the bank and restructuring.......its not over yet

visit eric hsu blog
J
  • J
    jugde
  • Sep 13, 2008
Hooo! it might b a good time for DASTEK UNICHIP..........go! go! go!
E
  • E
    ExODus
  • Sep 13, 2008
whoa... still in shocked... hopefully what html said is true... :p
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Sep 14, 2008
owh my...darn i luv their M7 oils.... sad sad...
E
  • E
    eclips3
  • Sep 15, 2008
these jap tuners/brands charge so much for their performance products because of time and research spent on it. those china makes and so called Greddy style, hks style and what so ever style just copied. Of coz they can sell it much cheaper. trust me, alot of my friends who bought those cheap "style" BOV and intercooler switched back to ori stuff after only 2 weeks! hahaha... which is more expensive, blowing ur engine due to el cheapo malfunction BOV or wastegate or just spend extra few hundred bucks more for Ori jap BOV or wastegate
R
  • R
    rusifiz
  • Sep 15, 2008
Perhaps due to increase in oil price?
oil price is expensive that people don't actually have the motivation and mood to mod their car to get more power (ie: to consume more fuel)

the eManage price might go up, might go down, depending on the demand, but Unichip is here to stay, right...? (not that I have any of them)

but the thought of other performance house to follow this bankruptcy trail scares me..
C
  • C
    condemed
  • Sep 16, 2008
NOOOO!!!!!!!! MY T88's!!!!!!
M
  • M
    masheer
  • Oct 13, 2008
I think if jpn trust/gready move their factory to china..of course they can
reduce their cost..and reduce their product price..
so..every can buy la...
F
  • F
    FishBrain_PROCC
  • Oct 13, 2008
damn... =(
E
  • E
    eric3211
  • Feb 25, 2009
i want to put e manege in my new toyota vios who can tell me............................but now gready is bankrupt.........my dream is finish oledi lo.........................
E
  • E
    eric3211
  • Feb 25, 2009
o no.....................
S
That is very fascinating, You're a very professional blogger. I've joined your rss feed and stay up for in search of more of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks
S