ConceptNews

Don’t Paint Your Car, Tape It!

g4Normally when you get bored with the colour of your car or it needs repainting, you would send it to a paint shop where it could take weeks, thousands of ringgit and no guarantee that you’ll get back everything as it was, except with a different colour of course. That’s what you and I would do, but when a BMW 335Ci owner in Munich Germany got bored of his black coupe, he sent it to be wrapped in white tape. Two days later he drove home in his refreshed “Alpine White” coupe, coupled with an M3 lookalike black roof.

g1

Apparently the German military has been using the process for some time now. The idea is also popular with race teams and taxi companies where a continuous change of colour is part of business and respraying the car could prove to be very costly. Available in a wide choice of colours, the tape is thick enough to protect the paint underneath from stone chips and other scratches. It can also be left adhered to the surface of your car for 3-4 years without damage. Peeling off is not a problem either as the tape is able to withstand an automatic car wash.

g8

g3g2g8g6g4g1g5g7

Source: e90post via AutoBlog

K
Can this be done in Klang Valley?
O
  • O
    Oncon
  • Aug 8, 2008
how much if done at here??
Z
  • Z
    zeromai
  • Aug 8, 2008
wow! gud stuff!
B
  • B
    blue.taxi
  • Aug 8, 2008
I think will not be cheap as it get here...
J
  • J
    JINEIL2EN
  • Aug 8, 2008
can save a lot of 'saman' money liao.... hehe..
E
  • E
    EmiR
  • Aug 8, 2008
Does anybody out there wants to bring that technology here? I watched an episode on the discovery channel once about a company in England doing the same with a Lotus. They did a Union Jack for the whole car.
A
  • A
    adlanb20
  • Aug 8, 2008
But how if your car had imperfections?
Like the blurdy door dings you get at the supermarket car park and stuff...
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Aug 8, 2008
Will it not peel under our hot & humid weather?
A
  • A
    are peace 977
  • Aug 8, 2008
the cost????
A
  • A
    are peace 977
  • Aug 8, 2008
for rear and front bumper of saga blm...
O
  • O
    osiris_putra
  • Aug 8, 2008
wow...

tats really nice...

how long it can stand???
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 8, 2008
Maybe we could project/ estimate the cost. The stickers could be 2.5 metres width x unlimited length roll. Could be made by some German company. A car like that BMW would probably need 12 metres. Probably RM2000 for the sticker. Workmanship could cost RM500. Shit, it cost almost the same as painting. hahaha. But the difference is you can get the car in a day or two.

I doubt it would cost RM1000 unless its cheap sticker. Mind you a high quality 1 metre length by 1 feet width good quality vinyl will cost about RM30 already.
R
Its ridiculous, telling it cheap is not true. Its more costly then painting the car. Labor is not cheap in western countries. Its always cheaper to spray, furthermore guaranteed to last longer then any best quality manufactured sticker.
M
  • M
    MidNight_Killer
  • Aug 9, 2008
this kind of the sticker not cheap lor...last year i hear the price frm the sticker supplier ord...they said the price would be rm3000/roll or above...

p/s : jz only 1 sticker branded can found this sticker...
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 9, 2008
The brand could be Oracle Vinyl or from 3M. There are other brands but i forgot. But these 2 brands seems to be the toughest ones. I have the antique ZTH sticker printed on oracle and its still retaining the color. My other Oracle sticker is from the other website drift.com. That last 5 years now with little fading and yellowing.
F
  • F
    Fazrul
  • Aug 10, 2008
The Tom's Sticker
at Pandan Indah have done this since last year. Not just the plain sticker, u can even decorate ur car to get better look.
The cost is quite expensive and nearly same with the cost of new paint.
But the good thing here is, it can be done within one day. It doesnt affect ur original paint. So by the time u want to sell ur car, u can remove the sticker, and the ori paint still there.
for how long the sticker will last i'm not really sure.
but i saw they doing this on several car, flat black, champion white n etc.
D
  • D
    drugcrew
  • Aug 11, 2008
hye there! can u guys give me quotation if i want to tape my beloved Satria...
flat black or champion white...whole car...how much it will cost?let me know asap yah!
S
Easy way. Anyway I like the color of my car.
S
  • S
    sabri
  • Jan 8, 2011
please i would like to buy these tapes to put it in my car
S