ArticlesBMWNewsSeatTop GearToyotaWeird

BMW M3 beats Toyota Hybrid Prius in Fuel Economy Test

1439530132_0002438e9bThe latest BBC’s Top Gear aired on Sunday last week (UK time) casts doubt upon the notion that a hybrid car would be the most fuel efficient in every circumstances.

Clarkson chose the most extreme examples to make the point — a sedan equipped with a V-8 engine producing 414 horsepower against the Toyota Prius with its 76 horsepower hybrid motor. The EPA rates the BMW at 14 miles per gallon in the city, and 20 on the highway which compares unfavorably to the 48 and 45 figures for the Prius.

”This is a BMW M3,” the show’s host Jeremy Clarkson said in introducing the car that would compete with a Prius. “It is not designed to be as economical as possible; it is designed to be fast.”

In this test, the M3 matched the speed of the Prius as the hybrid ran flat-out over ten laps of the 1.8 mile Top Gear Test Track in Surrey, England. Measurements taken after the run show that the Prius returned just 14.3 miles to the US gallon, while the BMW had 12 percent better fuel economy at 16.1 miles per gallon.

“It was one of the dullest drives of my life, but in the interest of science I stuck with it,” Clarkson said. “Seriously, what I’m saying is, it isn’t what you drive that matters, it’s how you drive it. That is everything.”

Something to ponder..

CLICK HERE for video

H
  • H
    harith
  • Jun 29, 2008
wow...its that true??? so guys, set the vtec at 7k rpm and set the boost as low as 0.3b...hahahahahah.......
A
  • A
    ACQ2305
  • Jun 29, 2008
hrmmmmm,time 2 buy a M3 then...can save on fuel..... hehehehehee........
S
  • S
    spikyz
  • Jun 29, 2008
again read this carefully, "Clarkson said. “Seriously, what I’m saying is, it isn’t what you drive that matters, it’s how you drive it. That is everything.” =D
K
  • K
    king_jamez
  • Jun 29, 2008
seriously if u can afford a M3 dun tell me u cant afford to pay for the fuel and complains about the hike in fuel price...rite??
K
  • K
    kcng
  • Jul 2, 2008
yeah, its how u drive and not what u drive that brings the best milage
E
Hurray! we all consent with an issue! What are your feelings on the M? BMW whored out M same as Mercedes did with AMG. What ever took place to building vehicles fast that were worthwhile? What individual wants a 4500lb pig with 500 hp?
E