Auto EventsDragMalaysiaMotorsportsNewsSepang Drag BattleSepang International CircuitTrack

Sepang Drag Battle – Champion Seeks To Retain Crown

r32Sepang Drag Battle two-time champion Lai Wee Sing will be hoping for a miracle in his penultimate round battle this Saturday at Sepang Circuit in his desperate effort to retain his overall Class A crown.

Sitting in third place with five points, the championship crown is for Dixon Chen to lose than Lai to win as his rival would enter Round 4 with a healthy haul of 13 points. Mohd Farriz Fauzy is second with seven points; effectively opening the door for Dixon to seal the championship this Saturday with one more round to go.

ah-lai-seeks-divine-help-for-round-4

“I do not want to think about anything else but to give my very best and to go all out for a win. Yes, it is going to be difficult; but I hope the results will go in favour for my team this time round,” said Lai, who has had a disastrous season by his standard.

At the previous Round 3, Lai lost in his semi-final battle against Dixon Chen after clocking 10.565 seconds against Dixon’s 10.078 seconds for a place in the final. Dixon, however, lost the final battle to Mohd Farriz Fauzy and his Nissan Skyline mean machine.

“As I have said many times, anything is possible in motor racing. Things can just change and I hope this time, it will be in my favour. As of now, the championship battle is still open and we will continue to fight on,” said Lai,

While Lai had been struggling, his R-Engineering team-mate Mohd Zamri Ahmad is having a superb season in Class B for two-wheel drive forced induction machines. Winning the previous Round 3, Mohd Zamri now has 10 points to lead the class and Ah Lai is confident that he could continue his winning form in Round 4.

Unlike previously, the programme for Round 4 would have an earlier start with registration as early as 2pm.

SEPANG DRAG BATTLE – RESULTS ROUND 3
EVENT PROGRAMME

1400-1700hrs – Registration & Scrutineering Class F
1530-1630hrs – Free Practice Class F
1630-1700hrs – Drivers Briefing Class F
1700-1900hrs – Qualifying Run Class F
1700-2100hrs – Registration & Scrutineering (All Other Classes)
1830-2030hrs – Free Practice
2100-2130hrs – Drivers Briefing
2130-0000hrs – Qualifying Run (All Other Classes)
0000-0030hrs – Quarterfinal Run
0030-0045hrs – Semifinal Run
0045-0115hrs – Final Run
0130hrs – Prize Presentation

A
  • A
    alex27
  • Oct 25, 2008
wats d fastest NA time in sepang?vtec category
P
  • P
    prem87
  • Oct 26, 2008
fastest NA time was 10.9secs i think.. By Mohd. Iqbal.. Car built by Wan Conggo and Tuned by Joshua Thiran @ millennium motorsports
P
  • P
    prem87
  • Oct 26, 2008
congrats to Lai for winning class A this round..
P
  • P
    prem87
  • Oct 26, 2008
and class B also..
I
  • I
    ilyas
  • Oct 27, 2008
so ali mamak win back in v-tec class, good2
M
  • M
    mark_15
  • Nov 1, 2008
ali mamak won in wat category la?
A
  • A
    apeh737
  • Nov 1, 2008
gt auto make 8.9sec maaa...malaysia rec maa..congratulation's to gt auto..fastest car in malaysia was born..
A
  • A
    apirchiroku
  • Feb 2, 2010
hoping more unpredictable fastest car born in sepang....and hoping up-grade to 6 or 8 cyclinder power train. in my view....fastest car is gt-auto 8sec++ car and n/a is 10sec++ car....hoping gt-auto and congo make the booooom on 2010.
A