Proton Offers AUD 1,200 To Satria Buyers in Australia
May 14, 2008
Well, looks like Proton is facing a real world situation outside of its usual ‘comfort zone’ (Malaysia) and is now having to entice buyers with incentives instead of hiding behind governmental protection. In Australia, our very own national car maker Proton is offering AUD1200 worth of petrol in the form of 12 Caltex $100 fuel cards for Satria 1.6 buyers.
According to Proton’s calculations based on the Satria’s average fuel consumption of 7.2liter/100km on an annual usage of 20,000lm with fuel cost at $1.50AUD per liter, the $1,200 will be enough to cover 55% of the owners annual fuel costs during the first year.
According to our calculations AUD1,200 times by the current exchange rate that is hovering around the 3.0 rate equals RM3,600 which we will happily accept but wait, we Malaysians, the very reason Proton exists in the first place, are forced to buy Protons meager offerings which basically means we don’t get any incentives because we literally don’t have a choice when it comes to us buying cars.
Source: CarScoop

you are teh shizzors of teh interwebs
can proton build a car? yes. proton can. and whats your problem? taxation? petrol charges? any other more? some machai to drive you?
i wonder what u are barking at. go and work hard and buy yourself whatever sportscar you want. on tax, gomen will have to abide to the regional law and bow down to pressures from outside to release proton protections. now we got hyundai selling cheaper than perdana.
on petrol charges, it is unavoidable. if you dont want to pay pricey juicy petrol, go buy a mountain bike. bmx oso can.
proton used to be the pride of nation,..now?…a laughing stock
still wonder wat we r barking at??..i dint see anyone in this thread complaining about petrol price anyway..
if there’s 100k for u….will u buy a foreign car or proton??…ASK UR SELF
so, bathing blood for nation is never beneficial to them, thus i wonder how many would do that.
i understand the grievance of having to buy cars that overwhelmingly high due to protections to proton. but like i said, the protections are slowly reduce and I believe it is sooner rather than later, that we will be free of many protections on proton.
i am sure the quality of protons as whole (except for traditional/ hallmark problems like Power Window, windscreen, etc. etc), has been on par with all those Hondas and Toyotas. For direct comparison, a Vios would be just as good as Waja - and vios would be free of small, niggling problems like i said before. but the quality is very much identical. but still a vios is at par with a waja. and if you take that CPS waja, well, i guess thats a point up for proton in bhp number.
wonder how the first 25 years of toyota compared to proton’s first 25 years? and dont forget the fact that, the JAPANESE FULLY SUPPORT their car industry and i believe toyota enjoyed that too during their first 25 years.
too bad proton was born too late where people are easily swayed by what they see.
so the people always make bad comparison without acknowledging whether it is FAIR or not.
yes. yes. you can go and buy whatever car you like.
its jolly good to be living in malaysia, right? you are free to do whatever you like, without bothering the others. Not all country is as good as malaysia and at some countries, they would ransack your house, take all your golds, and make you serve them as slaves. and worship the leader. and of course you will be living very poor.
thats true bro….such crappy parts they put in proton cars..
good one wongth7
at least be fair and give the rakyat choices la…now u tax foreign car till so high…is like forcing ppl to buy ur own car…how will u feel if ur car export to other country and they purposely tax ur car like wat the government did here??…(then u will end up giving $2000 for buyers to pump petrol??…LOL)
-10 to drMpower
champaign popping time, come-come, we are friends. other than that, no mate. its you as you are. and me, as i am. thats it
i challenge anyone..i repeat, ANYONE to compare the degree of achievement of the first 25 years of Proton and the first 25 years of …. lets say… Honda? or Toyota? who ever u like. and please take few things into considerations, such as: the state of knowledge as during those 25 years, the amount of support received from the locals during that 25 years, and of course, any technology advancement on that 25 years. and yeah, protection by the respective government towards their industry.
but sadly here in malaysia, Proton was born in the moment where advancement of technology was waaaayy to far for it to catch up. thats been Proton, as a baby, needs to do 100m dash with all those kids which already walking. and to make it worse, local people like some here, keep cheering for the running kids.
but japan people kept cheering for baby Toyota when it was start to compete with mercedes/ porsche/ bmw.
it must be more, right?
and on u bang to those bodykits bla bla bla. u go and check any of the JDM car manufacturers first 25 years. hows their design/ bodykits/ quality/ bla bla bla?
doom malaysia. her next gen is pretty much poisoned by those bodykits and opponent’s great technology advancement.
ps- its like applying for jobs and they state ‘experience’ as one of the requirements. then how you gonna have experience if you have never got a job in the first place? think la dey..
Soichiro Honda’s Honda, yes, the very JDM style bodykittos, and VTECs motor company, started in 1948 and only in 1989, the honourable mega VTEC was born. thats what….. 41 years after the company started?
i believe, with proton’s CPS, after only 20-30 years, is a good start. i admit on proton’s headstart in the era where cars and vehicles’ technology are abundance, but still we cannot take VTEC and remodel it our own Proton engine. still we have to fork out resources, and intelligence to have our own range of engine.
and i also admit we did mix business very much into politickings.
well, like you say, some people like to give excuses for their failure. and too bad, people that like to do everything that benefits them, are also very big in numbers these days.
when they keep on giv us the nation lousy quality product n we stil wanna support them leh….even Thailand also got the ‘CPS’ tech earlier than us in their Gen 2 ;p y they cannot giv us first leh…must wait until ppl all buy liao then now only come the CPS…too late lah…tak kan u wanna sell ur current Waja, Gen 2, Persona n then get the new Gen 2 again koh…think lah first dey
I would definitely agree with felix for this point. it’s a good one indeed. no matter how you see it, proton treat us like an “anak tiri” while we are in the first place who gave them money by buying their cars (not that we have much choice actually)
“Proton was born in the moment where advancement of technology was waaaayy to far for it to catch up” - drMpower
You said it yourself on the above line. why start in the first place?
why cant we be just like Thailand for example?
they produce honda cars and sell them cheap. if I’m not mistaken this is the regulation made by their government, car manufacturers must produce or at least assemble their cars locally before they can sell it in the country.
why is this done?
the same reason why proton was born in the first place. to provide jobs and technology transfer to the people. local people.
to provide job and to expend the economy, we dont necessarily need to create a new brand of our own. just produce others and make profit from it. why reinvent the wheel?
am I not patriotic? I’m am more than willing to protect the country if we are being invaded by others. but being loyal and patriotic has its limit. I’m not a foolish Tuah who ends up being betrayed by the Sultan he served. I’m a Jebat who fight for the right.
but of course, these are just my opinions. nothing I say here can change Malaysia nor Proton as it already is.
thank you.
i see lot proton car on the road, taking people to work and kids to school, and go for holiday or elsewhere.
bravo to malaysian.