Petrol Price to Stay at RM2.70, or Even Go LOWER!
June 12, 2008
Phew.. What a relief!! There will be NO further price hike, at least till the end of this year despite the possibility of crude oil price reaching USD200 per barrel (equivalent to RM4.30) as forecast by some analysts. Petrol will be retained at RM2.70 and diesel at RM2.58 at the pump.
Moreover, the price could even go lower, if the world price drop below the current rate. In order to stem any more increase, the Government would have to think of alternative ways to finance its spending.
““The Government realised that the rakyat is still trying to adapt to the higher petrol prices. The Cabinet has thus decided there will be no more increase this year. However, if the world price drops, we will use the 30 sen subsidy adjuster as a discount on pump prices.” -Badawi-
Although still difficult to swallow and not the best outcome that we would all have wished for, this is definitely a welcoming announcement. At least we would get a breather and some time to adjust our expenditure patterns based on the RM2.70 fuel price, rather than a floating price at the start of every month! Just pray hard that the price will go below USD139, then the pump price would reduce accordingly..

As some other articles mentioned or as we already knew, Malaysia is one of the highest tax paying country. Well, our government don’t care. They doing too many unpromosing cosmetic work. Talk but no promising action! db!!!
I dont think that Malaysia is one of the highest tax paying country. Compare it with the UK, they pay a whole lot more than malaysian does which is 40% of their monthly income. Correct me if im wrong.
m3 power,u cant put ur durian case and oil case on the same understandings. durian is a product that can be reproduced by humans and oil cant. So,stop all your gibberish and nonsense arguments against the goverment.
What I meant is we are still “one” of the highest tax paying country. Or you can think this way. How is you consumption power in KL or in Malaysia with the salary you earning? In general, it is already very bad for most salary worker even before the price hike. How much savings you can have in Malaysia while you need to pay off your car loan, house loan, insurance, etc etc….I don’t think much is left after all these expenses.
Look at the vehicle tax due to Proton…most of us want to be patriotic to our country …honestly speaking, many are very excited when Malaysia had its own national car…however, when time flies, there are no improvement at all as can be seen…
Most importantly, lets review where our country stands at an international level? We used to be ahead of China or Singapore…and today they are far ahead of us already. At times, our government like to compare with other worse countries but hey..is that going to help develop? The country will not improve much if always compare with the worse..
Of course, your perception and mine could be different to a certain extent..well this is just all personal opinions anyway
You based your assumptions on the expenses incurred monthly. That’s a whole level of different perspective than tax buddy. I think it’s what your trying to say is that our general real income wages is lower compared with others. Thus,purchasing power from our Ringgit is less.
Yup,the vehicle tax is rubbish. In order to prevent Proton from experiencing prica fall,they imposed the ridiculous 200% tax for imported cars. HAISH..!
China is a vast growing country due to the population and as well as their cheap labours being exploited truly. Their economy is considered as one of the fast growing globally. Even US is far behind last 2-3 years (if im not mistaken). But their income gap are tremendous,something like in Indonesia. Luckily Msia is not anywhere near that situation.
Ok2,well this is my personal opinions.