GT-RNewsNissan

Nissan GT-R V-Spec To Be Released Later This Month For Double The Price

01_gtrspecv_ringReports about the release and pricing of the Nissan GT-R V-Spec have been circulating for months and Nissan HQ has supposedly confirmed the rumors and targeted an on-sale date in Japan in late January or early February.

The GT-R V-Spec is expected to be packing another 100 hp through the use of a new exhaust, more boost and a retuned ECU. Carbon fiber will replace some of the body panels to reduce weight, while new wheels, upgraded brakes and suspension tweaks will round out the mods.

04_gtrspecv_ring

Rumors suggest that Nissan could release the V-Spec at the 12th annual NISMO Festival at Fuji Speedway in Japan later this month. Pricing could be up to 15,000,000 yen – 2,000,000 more than earlier predictions – or around US$154,000, more than double the cost of a standard GT-R.If that holds true, I wonder whether it’ll be worth paying RM1.7million for a Nissan. Or would I rather spend the money on either of the Italian stallions? Or a German enthusiast machine? Decisions decisions.

Source: AutoBlog

D
  • D
    db8
  • Nov 12, 2008
err..i would buy the standard gtr..and then upgrade the power..more less the money need than to buy the v-spec..
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Nov 12, 2008
Could be like the Japan GT GTR? A V8? doesnt seem impossible seeing the price rumored at double the standard price....
D
  • D
    doppelganger
  • Nov 12, 2008
the v spec is a limited run of just 500 pcs right... correct me if im wrong..
A
  • A
    Arcurad
  • Nov 13, 2008
might as well buy a standard GTR and then upgrade it to the max...surely the gain and money worth is better
F
  • F
    farique
  • Nov 13, 2008
I have to agree, the price is expensive. Maybe they should lower the price a little bit.
A
  • A
    adifa
  • Nov 13, 2008
I think the standard one also lots of power. Why should must be upgrade? Better try to control the standard power than ...it good to be upgrade for the new level.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 13, 2008
Remember, Nissan is selling the GTR at a loss. The stock ones. Now the V-Spec is going to get them back the moolah. The stock one is really already very good enough. It is proven to be very competetive on the streets with most supercars. So why do you need a V-Spec? Another 100HP more and most drivers still cannot find places to play and milk that power except on tracks. Remember that the GTR has speed limiter unlocked once it is on track!

Actually i think the V-Spec is a collectors market. 1.7 million is a fair price for this car that is very very possible to demolish a lot of supercars. Its still cheaper than Veyron or any of the souped up supercars.
D
  • D
    David_SGTi
  • Nov 13, 2008
i would rather buy a Ferrari....
D
  • D
    deacon
  • Nov 13, 2008
Nissan is definitely not making a loss on GTRs sold throughout the world. They are, however, possibly not making a lot of profit it (This is no Bugatti Veyron despite the claims that the technology in the car could be considered "baby" Veyron-esque).

Besides those who want a GTR but can't afford will more than likely spring for a 370Z which does earn Nissan a fair bit of money. Or perhaps they will be patient for Nissan's entry level affordable sports car, which i am sure will be the re-release of the new Sylvia.

Keep in mind that people will sometimes buy lower range cars to feel closer to the glory of the highest spec car that a particular manufacturer produces. This obviously is not reflected in our country because even a base model Z costs an arm and leg.

Aspirational advertising through high end product development (GTR) - it is a beautiful thing.
G
  • G
    Gila
  • Nov 13, 2008
Look, is the price of the V-Spec confirmed or not?
L
Porsche, you're dead hahaha
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Nov 13, 2008
for the price like that, buy 2 GTR instead of 1 GTR Vspec is a good decision lah.. not many "jauhari mengenal manikam" lah even u use Vspec in malaysia...
M
  • M
    minesgtr
  • Nov 13, 2008
u want use that v-spec?i think better u all use the nissan skyline gtr 35 tuned by mines...that is more powerfull n cost is add RM 250,000..MORE CHEAP FROM V-SPEC!!
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Nov 13, 2008
Definitely not worth the money. How much is the one from Amuse is going for?
T
  • T
    t_danker
  • Nov 13, 2008
RM 1.7 for a GT-R V-Spec? Some will say its bananas, and some will say its worth the buy. It all comes up to how you perceive the car.

Moreover, the doubled up on the price for the new GT-R V-Spec is just rumored to be. Don't come into any conclusions too quickly. Just sit back, relax and anticipate the arrival of the new Japanese monster =)
H
  • H
    hause
  • Nov 13, 2008
For a near 2 mil....hmmmm I would have a Fezza or a Lamborghini or a 911 GT3, or a CLK Black.

Don't get me wrong a GTR is a hero for the masses (richer masses). A middle finger to the upper class exotica snobs. But when a GTR is put into the pricing range of a exotic. It kinda defeats its purpose.

And i know alot will say that the GTR will humiliate a exotica.

But to be honest. The exotica is more than straight line performance, or laps round a track.

Its about the noise (Have you heard a Murcielago on full throttle?)
Its about the theater.
Its about the sensations (Go find a Ferrari with the windows down and take a whiff of the interior...yummy).

And with that kind of money for a V-spec. I would rather spend it on an exotica. Besides the GTR is already in a league beyond the mere mortal's capability. So the extra won't be accessed by us mortals. So might as well blow the extra on a V-Spec for a proper exotica experience.

Besides. the GTR can't be tuned. Its airflow around the body is wind tunnel honed to perfection. The gearbox is unique to the engine. The engine is built in conditions that NASA would blush. And the car won't run if you change the rims. There little or near as makes no difference no room for improvement.
impressive suggestions.. but then again.. RM1.7million on a Nissan?? I would like to think that if I were that rich so as to spend millions on a car.. I could hold up to buy a LP560-4 or a carbon Scuderia.. or even a GT3RS.. but a GTR V-Spec ?? Somehow.. it doesn't quite add up..

But if the car does kick some serious ass.. it would still be tempting to buy just to show the more exotic the middle finger.. but again.. RM1.7million on a Nissan??

here's the reasoning on the RM1.7million price tag.. In Japan the car is already gonna cost double the price tag of the standard GTR.. And in "make-it-more expensive-just-cuz-we-can" Malaysia.. there really is no way that the car could be less than double the price tag here.. the average running price of the GTR in Malaysia is currently around RM750,000.. plus our much-beloved automotive taxes.. you do the math..
D
  • D
    deacon
  • Nov 14, 2008
I think Nissan, Honda (Acura more so than Honda), and Toyota (Lexus more so then Toyota itself) have accomplished a lot in reinventing perceptions. That being said, there are enough people who need and want variety in their life in terms of a supercar. The V-spec could be right up that alley, almost like how the NSX was as an alternative to high maintenance Ferrari.

Meh, food for thought.

Guess it boils down to would you rather own a F430 Scuderia only to be out performed by a Nissan GTR V-spec. Inevitably it will come down to the numbers not just the panache the car carries.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 14, 2008
Anyone wants to know where the loss is on the currrent GTR? Its at the freaking gearbox. Do you know how much royalties they have to pay to the patent holder for the gearbox? And there are some reports i have seen where some guys managed to wreck the gearbox and to his shock the unit cost almost half the price of the car! Anyone dare to ask Nissan a quote for a brand new gearbox for one of these babies?

Now its twice the price for a V-Spec with some mods and wheels. Doesn't that make you think a little for the charges? What more how fast were the R33 & R34 V Spec versions was released after the official standard cars was launched? I think R35 V-Spec is launched too early. Which in turn made Nissan look that it is desperate to get real profits off the GTR.

Look at the cut out of the GTR guys. The real magic is the darn gearbox.
E
  • E
    esw
  • Nov 15, 2008
nice. about time the new GTR has its own vspec. now hoping 4 future V SPEC 2, M SPEC, and V SPEC NUR version.
E