Subscribe to Zerotohundred.com Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

High Performance Parts - Greddy/Trust Declare Bankruptcy

September 12, 2008

greddy-rx8It’s a dark day for all Japanese rice burner and tuning enthusiast. In a world where the market is seemingly filled by pirated or dubious products claiming to do whatever more established brands can but for much less, our choices have now been limited. The next time you think about upgrading something in your car, you will sadly have to forget about TrusT/Greddy products as they are now officially bankrupt.

greddy_oil_cap_blue

Known as Trust in Japan and Greddy everywhere else in the world, the company has sunken into $60million debt and, after reporting a serious decline in sales since February 2008 and amassing $43 million in loan payments, filed for bankruptcy in Tokyo District Court.

Trust - established in 1976, employs around 200 workers and had been dealing in everything from CARB-legal exhausts to turbo systems when Greddy Performance Products was founded in the U.S. in 1994 and introduced into markets worldwide. Without a doubt, there will be several firms that will step up to fill the need of enthusiasts, assuming that Trust doesn’t try to reorganize, but with the Japanese aftermarket industry down overall, we suspect this won’t be the last time we’ll hear about a large tuner going under but let’s all hope we don’t as such news is never welcomed.

Share and Enjoy:
These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • bodytext
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Fark

You may find these useful

Comments

42 Responses to “High Performance Parts - Greddy/Trust Declare Bankruptcy”

1. sprinter on September 12th, 2008 1:13 pm
    izzit true?humm bad news for motorsport company that prodeuce high performance product..
  2. dre42 on September 12th, 2008 1:47 pm
    this is not cool man… such a big name..
  3. brian84 on September 12th, 2008 2:28 pm
    alamak….what de……
    how come…???
  4. arcurad on September 12th, 2008 2:39 pm
    noooo……..
  5. na_power on September 12th, 2008 2:42 pm
    what a waste. its a big name…
  6. na_power on September 12th, 2008 2:43 pm
    man, how can they bankrupt, their exhaust are the best… i feel it.. isk isk isk
  7. TitanRev on September 12th, 2008 3:02 pm
    This is why fake parts can really ruined a good company. I hate fake parts!!!
  8. skazareth on September 12th, 2008 4:12 pm
    yea agree… faker contribute this ruin..
  9. whitesouls on September 12th, 2008 4:21 pm
    actually, we as consumers shud purchase original parts..purchasing cap ayam dan itik wont make any good on the long run..

such a big name..so sad..so sad..

10. farkpirates on September 12th, 2008 4:31 pm
    yes we must thanked to those ppl who bought fake products and supporting the fake industry. poserss…
  11. nakata86 on September 12th, 2008 4:54 pm
    to stop us buying fakes they should also produce affordable products. not everyone else in other parts of the world have high standards of living like japan. dont tell me u earn rm 3000 a month u wanna buy a rm 4000 exhaust meh? not feasible ma.
  12. LOL on September 12th, 2008 4:55 pm
    haha….who’s next?
  13. Yoshi on September 12th, 2008 5:28 pm
    E-manage price going to shoot up~!
  14. skyancient on September 12th, 2008 6:06 pm
    so sad to read this news… and is a surprise to all of us~! >.<
  15. imoloq on September 12th, 2008 6:46 pm
    U mean they r no longer making e manage??????
  16. stanleycmw on September 12th, 2008 7:20 pm
    Pity Trust / GReddy had became one of the victims for the fake-things… Just wondering which brand is next…HKS?
  17. LOL on September 12th, 2008 8:40 pm
    next??…proton
  18. genny on September 12th, 2008 9:13 pm
    wat a wasted…sob sob…
  19. Lennon on September 12th, 2008 10:02 pm
    Production in Japan is costly….. They should do what Wallmart do to survive……
  20. evo4g63 on September 12th, 2008 10:23 pm
    oh my god… why?
  21. JasonKid on September 12th, 2008 11:35 pm
    I guess HKS won’t be the next, as their strategies are totally different with other brand ~

HKS set up different pro shop in a lot of country other than just giving out distributor…
    Like N1 Racing in Malaysia, Garage R in Singapore, SHH Pro Shop in Brunei, Top Racing in Hong Kong, all these are HKS tuning pro shop that always keep contact with HKS Japan. They also focus on foreign car like VW Golf GTi, BMW with supercharger. Now they starting to develop Hipermax suspension for foreign car too.

In future, I wonder JUN Auto will getting which company turbo for their tuning? They usually use Trust turbo part for tuning their super lemon engines… Will they shift to using HKS part? Or using some US product? Since their piston is being manufactured by Cosworth Racing.

Next will be? Power Enterprise? TODA Racing?

22. jugde on September 12th, 2008 11:40 pm
    Very very sad……
  23. jugde on September 12th, 2008 11:42 pm
    then mutiara in jb how?
  24. netmatrix on September 13th, 2008 12:56 am
    Mutiara motors seem to distribute their stuff only. If they don;t have Greddy to sell, they still sell cars! It would be interesting how they handle customers which bought Greddy stuff recently.
  25. no horse run on September 13th, 2008 3:25 am
    i think it is not those fake part who made them went bankruptcy, is bcos of the rise of china, the manufacture cost is so damn cheap which cause all these japanese big boys product hard to sell in country like malaysia.

i agreed with wat natak86 said, earn 4k to buy 5k parts? no way man~

back to those dayz when there are no china made engine performance parts, i used to go all the chop shops to find all the “used” good stuff, but look at now, we can have ZAP intercooler, WORKS engineering, D2 brakes system and all the taiwanese brand who manufactured in China, bla bla bla and so on, all made in China! same chop shop price but it’s new and the quality stil ok lar, not as good as japs stuff la of cos. the point is, all my frens are using ZAP intercooler rather than apexi, trust or hks now, becos it is cheap and boleh pakai mar.

hope that all the japs tuner will switch thier plant to china, so that everyone like me in the world will be very happy.

26. lapsap25 on September 13th, 2008 3:26 am
    Omg..such a shocking news..
  27. kamen rider #1 on September 13th, 2008 4:01 am
    e manage price gonna shoot up ?…

great….

If e manage defect, where u gonna send back ?…

keramat letrik ?…

it will spell e damage then…

pathetic…

28. kazar on September 13th, 2008 4:48 am
    aiyak im a big fan of greedy parts..no..!!!
  29. lonely driver on September 13th, 2008 7:13 am
    so cham…! no more greddy type s / type r BOV liao…
  30. vincent on September 13th, 2008 11:33 am
    First off there was Apexi, now Greddy/Trust.. The disappointment never ends…
  31. GT_AUTO on September 13th, 2008 12:11 pm
    imho…yes,fake/imitation part do contribute to their failure as a japanese
    performance part manufacturer power house.but you all can’t blame solely on that.
    i don’t see hks& blitz suffer that seriously.it’s all up to their engineering
    marvel, r&d and price too.i think some big company will take over trust/greddy
    n turn it around.hopefully it will still be the big player in the japanese motorsport
    scene.
  32. krayzee_wu82 on September 13th, 2008 12:42 pm
    saper2 yg baru beli e-manage yg brand new…
    heheheh…payah la nak claim warranty kalau aper2 jadi…
  33. jay_ek9 on September 13th, 2008 1:29 pm
    Damnn im a big Fan of Greddy…..
    even my calculator got their sticker……

they make great turbos tho’

=(

34. html on September 13th, 2008 6:31 pm
    you could order from greddy USA…..now the parent company which is trust japan…is getting protection from the bank and restructuring…….its not over yet

visit eric hsu blog

35. jugde on September 13th, 2008 7:38 pm
    Hooo! it might b a good time for DASTEK UNICHIP……….go! go! go!
  36. ExODus on September 13th, 2008 8:09 pm
    whoa… still in shocked… hopefully what html said is true… :p
  37. pandaB on September 14th, 2008 12:25 pm
    owh my…darn i luv their M7 oils…. sad sad…
  38. eclips3 on September 15th, 2008 12:46 pm
    these jap tuners/brands charge so much for their performance products because of time and research spent on it. those china makes and so called Greddy style, hks style and what so ever style just copied. Of coz they can sell it much cheaper. trust me, alot of my friends who bought those cheap “style” BOV and intercooler switched back to ori stuff after only 2 weeks! hahaha… which is more expensive, blowing ur engine due to el cheapo malfunction BOV or wastegate or just spend extra few hundred bucks more for Ori jap BOV or wastegate
  39. rusifiz on September 15th, 2008 9:19 pm
    Perhaps due to increase in oil price?
    oil price is expensive that people don’t actually have the motivation and mood to mod their car to get more power (ie: to consume more fuel)

the eManage price might go up, might go down, depending on the demand, but Unichip is here to stay, right…? (not that I have any of them)

but the thought of other performance house to follow this bankruptcy trail scares me..

40. condemed on September 16th, 2008 11:51 am
    NOOOO!!!!!!!! MY T88’s!!!!!!
  41. masheer on October 13th, 2008 3:14 am
    I think if jpn trust/gready move their factory to china..of course they can
    reduce their cost..and reduce their product price..
    so..every can buy la…
  42. FishBrain_PROCC on October 13th, 2008 11:37 am
    damn… =(

Got something to say?

Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
The Marketplace - Hottest Automotive Classifieds!
  Engine and Performance   Chassis and Wheels   Exterior and Body
  1. Used 4g93 GSR turbo intake manifold
  2. used EF original engine 1.5
  3. 5/1 used APEXi rsm D1 edition
  4. 5/1 Used APEXi rsm bluescreen
  5. DASTEK UNICHIP VERSION Q selling cheap
  1. Regamaster 15" pcd 100 4 hole
  2. front mirage 2wt brakes for sale..
  3. Used Hi-Lo Coilovers (fully serviced) For Satria/SGTi/Putra/Wira/Waja
  4. Original Enkei OZ Racing 15 X 6 JJ
  5. WTB EVO8 parts
  1. [WTS] L2S front bumper for kancil
  2. EF/SH3 rear bonet + spoiler + civic SE
  3. civic EG6/SR3 rear bodyparts - rare!!!!!!
  4. WTS*fender signal evo/lancer*
  5. Passo taillamp 2007
  Interior and Cockpit   ICE - In Car Entertainment   Cars For Sale
  1. Apexi RSM blue screen for sale
  2. WTS*sun visor evo/lancer*
  3. (wts) myvi 08 facelift manual meter cluster, rare item
  4. (wts) myvi 1st gen meter cluster, rare item
  5. Gen 2 used part for sales
  1. used gen 2 parts for sales
  2. kenwood roof speaker want to sell
  3. Clifford, Alpine, Kicker, Nakamichi, Amerion, Blackmaxx, Pegasus, MTX
  4. Use I.C.E item for sales !!!
  5. Subwoofer carrozzeria,kenwood & american sound
  1. "toyota trueno ae86"
  2. VIP style Champion of the year Cefiro A32 for sale
  3. PROTON SAGA Urgent selling..CHEAP...!!!
  4. HONDA CIVIC SiR EG9 (CONVERTED) DOHC VTEC B20B FOR SALE!
  5. Ke70 dx with ca18 turbo
'(00) 2008 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us