Subscribe to Zerotohundred.com Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Champion of Cannonball Europe - SMART ForTwo!

August 9, 2008

cannonball-logo-2006A Smart ForTwo gave its high-powered opposition plenty of ‘fuel for thought’ when it sprinted to victory in the Cannonball Run, a 3,000-mile dash across Europe. The five-year-old, second-hand smart fortwo BRABUS, which was the smallest car in the 40-vehicle field beat a long list of six-figure supercars. The event, which was flagged off in UK, then crossed to France, Portugal and Spain with the finishing line back in UK.

cannon_smart_large

It was the Smart’s impressive fuel economy that really provided the edge. The performance version of the iconic smart range, which features a 700cc, 74bhp, three-cylinder turbo engine, is capable of 53.3 miles per gallon when driven on the combined fuel cycle – a factor that enabled the car to spend less time at the petrol pumps than its thirstier rivals.

img_2745

“The downfall of the bigger cars was that they were forced to stop so often, so while they kept overtaking us, we eventually went past them at the next petrol station when they needed to fill up again!”

img_2840

What made the victory even more remarkable was the fact that their Smart has all of its original specification apart from a re-mapping kit and upgraded suspension. Competing in their first event of this kind, they were also the only entrants without an in-car satellite navigation system – preferring a traditional European road guide instead.

atom

Share and Enjoy:
These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • bodytext
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Fark

You may find these useful

Comments

5 Responses to “Champion of Cannonball Europe - SMART ForTwo!”

1. xenith on August 10th, 2008 12:30 am
    Those guys are really ’smart’.
    Did I just make a lame joke?
  2. badtz_mark on August 10th, 2008 8:38 am
    they need F1 style fuel pumping system
  3. vincent on August 10th, 2008 11:45 am
    A classic tale of david and the goliath.. What really puzzled me is how long did all those super cars took to refuel until there’s time for the Smart to overtake them?
  4. netmatrix on August 11th, 2008 10:45 am
    Thats easy. At the petrol stations, they have to que up. Not to mention the large GT sized fuel tanks.
  5. adlanb20 on August 12th, 2008 6:33 pm
    When covering long distances, its not about outright speed. Its like the balik kampung trip. U whack 150-160kmph, sometimes 170-180. Then you stop at R&R to rest and fill up petrol. When u you continue ur journey, down the road u sometimes find the same slow and steady lorry again… :)

Got something to say?

Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
The Marketplace - Hottest Automotive Classifieds!
  Engine and Performance   Chassis and Wheels   Exterior and Body
  1. Alluminium radiator
  2. new Blitz Radiator Cap 1.3bar for sale
  3. Piping Original Intercooler Evo 3
  4. Emanage & Safc 1
  5. Mazda enthusiats!!AutoExe genuine muffler with SR Jasma tag muffler 2.3inch
  1. TE37 WHITE 15inch PCD100
  2. [WTS] SSR Type C 15" (Original)
  3. TE37 BRONZE 15inch PCD100
  4. Hot Bits Sports Springs for Satria GTi
  5. Front Disc Brake GSR
  1. EVO bonet RM590 (**Term and condition apply **)
  2. All exterior/interior Move L900 for sale. (own car selling)
  3. All exterior/interior Move L900 for sale. (own car selling)
  4. Genuine type-R 99 front lips (71110-SO4-Z000)
  5. Evo Rear Disk Brake
  Interior and Cockpit   ICE - In Car Entertainment   Cars For Sale
  1. Original Trust/Greddy Gearknob For sale
  2. DEFI meter n Controler for sale
  3. GSR Disc Brake (Front)
  4. Bride seat for sale{ evo 4 / lancer railing )
  5. some interior part ee100/ae111 for sale
  1. Use I.C.E item for sales !!!
  2. Subwoofer carrozzeria,kenwood & american sound
  3. *SELLING* VIOS OEM D/Din CD MP3 player
  4. Toyota D-din M'sia 4 sale!! Cheap!!
  5. AttackBass 2 Channel Amplifier
  1. Proton Satria 1.6 (M)
  2. Proton Saga FULL SET
  3. Proton Iswara 1.5{a}
  4. Proton Saga FULL SET
  5. INOKOM ATOS 1.0 (M) Sep 2003 FOR SALE
'(00) 2008 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us