Auto EventsCar ShowsFeatures

Zerotohundred Exclusive: We Visit The Indonesia International Motor Show 2008

We’ve been doing quite a bit of running around Asia this year, from Japan for the Tokyo Auto Salon to Thailand for the Bangkok Motor Show, Singapore for the Formula Drift, and just last week, Jakarta for the Indonesia International Motorshow (IIMS). It’s fun, a lot of fun, but the work involved to be the one of the first media in the world to feature post-event coverage is no easy feat, the flights, the hotels, the traffic jams and the lack of internet connection can bring a leading automotive website to a halt, but not us.

It was all worth it though, the IIMS is one the most anticipated automotive events this side of the world and we saw why. It featured 160 cars out of which 11 were concepts, well there are quite a number of local events that have gathered that many cars and even more, but none of those events have an influence over locals as much as the IIMS has on ‘Jakartians’. Mercedes used it as a platform to launch the new SL, Honda launched the new Jazz, Proton launched the Persona and so did other manufacturers like Mazda, Toyota, Volkswagen, and Suzuki.

[ad]

The event also promoted greener motoring, dubbed “Advanced Motoring, High Quality Living”, the organisers of the IIMS, GAIKINDO (Gabungan Industri Kenderaan Bermotor Indonesia) went out of its way to promote alternative sources of energy. They even put together a writing competition for journalists highlighting on “The application of alternative energy towards the enhancement of quality living” as its theme. What better way to educate the public about alternative energy when you have some of the country’s leading automotive journalists competing to come up with the best piece of writing on alternative energy.

Other such events include a competition for the one car that was the most environmentally friendly and could provide a solution to the current environmental mayhem and a ‘Automotive Design and Styling’ competition that focused on the most Agropolitan Vehicle. Very thoughtful if you ask me and the fact that Honda had ‘tree people’ creeping around their hall just hit the message home that we are at the brink of an environmental disaster.

The IIMS also had a very friendly and social feel to it, yes it was an event that promoted motoring, so the organisers, went out and planted 1,500 trees around Indonesia since the end of last year till as early as last month. It also wasn’t an event only for the rich and worthy, it was for everybody. One thousand students were invited to attend the show and be pampered with all sorts of goodies from the organisers and manufacturers along with various other homes and schools.

Besides that, the IIMS was everything we expected it to be, the babes, we’ll X-rate that for now, the cars included the 2007 Formula 1 Championship winning Ferrari, a super huge Hino truck that looked like it was going to transform into Optimus Prime at any minute and a Toyota concept that featured carbon fiber rims, the crowd, all 206,000 of them were very much awe struck, the ICE competition was of course, deafening, the showcase of exotic dancers and other entertainers was a nice touch,and the rest of the mini events just seemed to make a mockery out of what KLIMS has turned out to be, or rather hasn’t turned out to be.

So, while we spent an entire week in Jakarta, it wasn’t all about the IIMS, watch out for our feature on Permaisuri, the largest and most trusted rim dealer in Jakarta, we even catch up with local car clubs to see what type of mischief car fans in Indonesia get up to and we check out a locally tuned Nissan Skyline R34 GTR, and of course, The Babes Of IIMS.

Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (50)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (88)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (51)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (26)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (3)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (194)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (376)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (346)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (354)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (344)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (234)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (279)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (451)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (502)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (447)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (385)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (523)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (205)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (228)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (305)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (118)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (405)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (138)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (215)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (387)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (499)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (521)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (340)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (108)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (125)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (350)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (173)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (107)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (232)Indonesia International Motorshow 2008 (484)

X
  • X
    xenith
  • Jul 23, 2008
Why can't KLIMS be held yearly like IIMS???
A
  • A
  • Jul 23, 2008
good write up, exclusive coverage, and nice pictures.. keep it up! :D
S
  • S
    sum-dum-fuk
  • Jul 24, 2008
malaysian motorshows are no match for even the Indonesian or Thai motorshows... we've participated twice at the Indonesia motorshow and the turnout was Fantastic.

The booths were top notch..the girls were HOT.. the organisers, very well planned.

Sorry and sad to see that Malaysian motorshows are very far lacking and amateur in organisations.....lack of exposure and experience.
I
Very nice coverage. Very thorough.
E
  • E
    electric wizzard
  • Jul 24, 2008
The reason why our motorshow sux is becoz we are too cheapo to spend lavishly on presentation. semua boleh tapi cikai!!
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Jul 24, 2008
No! Its the organizers that is more interested in profits rather than organizing it properly. Even when we paid RM20 for KLIMS its simply a rip off!!! No new cars, no prototypes no nothing! Then there were the many so called super auto salons that have many exhibitors crying foul over the need to pay more displaying equipment. In fact those micro car auto salons seem to fare the best and the turnout is much much better and consistent.
R
  • R
    rideon
  • Jul 24, 2008
In terms of creativity, the indonesian do have alot of it. It's quite embarasing for us here in M'sia as we are developing country and we can make better with some help from the universities such as UiTM, MMU, and the famous Limkokwing University. Make a competion or something to create the best atmosphere and theme. Then people will be flooded at out gates. as for the cars, we do have lots of cars and of course sponsorship i think is nothing difficult after a good proposal. well thats what i think.
Y
  • Y
    yoyo
  • Jul 25, 2008
go indonesia!
S
  • S
    sum-dum-fuk
  • Jul 25, 2008
precedent set on previous motorshows in KL are all just..."plain jane"...nothing fantastic..

which is why for us as Distributors..we don find value in trying to participate in such shows here in Malaysia...the organisation's here are again i repeat "amateur".

we've dealt and participated in overseas motorshows and the level of professionalism is extremely high and orgnisational plannings are well co-ordinated, especially security.

We took part in the 2000 KL motorshow and alot of promise on security etc by them back then...and on the first night of opening, when we closed..2 of our turbos were stolen !! next day security and organisers started pushing blames, in the end we had to write off as loss and lost faith there on with malaysian exhibitions.
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Jul 25, 2008
pity we dont have such exhibitions ere...last one suck... full stop..
S
  • S
    SUJAAR.RACINGTEAM
  • Jul 26, 2008
We always said ' MALAYSIA BOLEH'.......i really dont know what is meaning by 'Malaysia Boleh'....our neigbouring country can do much more better...than us...example...see the INDONESIAN MOTOR SHOW....and Malaysian motor show...Singgapore better than us...we have to learn so much... from them.. anyway i HAVE to be proud to be MALAYSIAN.....n have proton saga in my garage...{bcoz cannot sell...nobody want to buy.....}....
A
  • A
    azlan87
  • Jul 26, 2008
the new jazz have those lambo door's izit??
M
  • M
    moshpit21
  • Jul 29, 2008
check out the FUSO.. i want one of those..

proud to be Indonesian.. yeah !!
N
  • N
    na_power
  • Jul 30, 2008
the jazz mod already, look the bonnet, looks like a CF bonnet
N