Subscribe to Zerotohundred.com Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Toyo Drift Malaysia Series - Round 2

August 11, 2008

ag_79429Many do not know, modern drifting started out as a racing technique popular in the All-Japan Touring Car Championship races over 30 years ago by a motorcycling legend turned driver, Kunimitsu Takahashi. It has evolved tremendously and our local car nuts had quickly picked-up this competitive sport over the years.

ag_80247_600

The latest local drifting competition was the Toyo Drift Malaysia Series - Round 2 held in Bukit Jalil last wekend. This event had proven that our local drifters are not taking ‘dorifuto’ for granted. It will be a matter of time before this ’sport’ will be included in the X-Games, and subsequently sanctioned by FIA.

ag_80369_600

The results:

1ST IVAN LAU (BRIDGESTONE AE86)
2ND TENGKU DJAN LEY (BRIDGESTONE 180SX)
3RD LIM KIM WAN (TOYO 180SX)

ag_80561_600

Finals Part 1 - Tg Djan vs Ivan Lau

Finals Part 2 - Tg Djan vs Ivan Lau

I wonder since we are now in the midst of the Olympics, if BMX and skateboarding are acknowledged and competed in the Olympics, why can’t drifting?

ag_80063_600

ag_79876_600

ag_80103_600

ag_79213_600

ag_79738_600

ag_79219_600

ag_79176_600

AG_79174AG_80489AG_79782AG_79251AG_80063AG_79790AG_80075AG_79900AG_79801AG_80696AG_79412AG_80252AG_80420AG_80202AG_79898AG_80429AG_79765AG_80514AG_79214AG_80090AG_80137AG_80027

Share and Enjoy:
These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • bodytext
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Fark

You may find these useful

Comments

16 Responses to “Toyo Drift Malaysia Series - Round 2”

1. olskool on August 11th, 2008 10:35 pm
    pls change the commentator/emcee…there are many highly equipped emcees in Malaysia…Just need to spend some money…
  2. drew1.0beta on August 11th, 2008 11:22 pm
    i gotta agree with olskool..the emcee just drops the standard of this event..
  3. ken yeang on August 12th, 2008 3:20 pm
    HEard that this event maybe the last held in Bukit Jalil due to issues with polis diRaja Malaysia, regarding safety matters.
  4. rolandofam on August 12th, 2008 4:52 pm
    when is the third round and when?:)
  5. kksoon on August 13th, 2008 12:09 am
    to TS, mind to ask something out of topic, how u put in those ZTH logo in every pics u post? edit 1 by 1? or got some kind of software to compile 1 short? mind to share?
  6. adam on August 13th, 2008 12:41 am
    it’s quite simple, watermark by ‘batch’. i learnt online.. even these photos were done by the photographer himself.. fairly simple..
  7. Andy on August 13th, 2008 1:03 pm
    The ZTH logo had been pre-programmed as a Photoshop action and it will apply to every images in a specified folder.
  8. ika on August 13th, 2008 5:25 pm
    cool pictures…
  9. r3dster on August 13th, 2008 10:54 pm
    “if BMX and skateboarding are acknowledged and competed in the Olympics, why can’t drifting?”

haha..come on.let motorsport be in it’s own category.motorized machines aren’t “fit” for olympics..lolz

10. adam on August 14th, 2008 1:56 am
    motorized machines?

The Olympics says that they do not want sports that rely on ‘machineries’ as machines failure would cause an athlete to lose a medal, ie retire from race.. but the exact thing happens in cycling. A flat tyre in the road race is just part of the sport. So, whats the difference with all the mechanical dramas in motorsports?

The Olympics is against any form of motorized competition due to rampant commercialism, advertisement, rights issues and the large role the competitiveness of the machinery plays. Not because it’s ‘motorized’ or ‘mechanical’. anyways, maybe u should check out, they was a consideration to bring A1 as an olympic event since all machines are equal..

then again, not all bmx, racing bicycles, skateboards, football boots, rackets, etc are the same specs.. that’s what so contradicting..

11. wanzul on August 14th, 2008 12:52 pm
    I did went to the drift event last week (080808) and i think it’s just a training or something….i was just passing by there by my bike and fortunately there was a drift event held. Lucky i did bring my dslr and they are already uploaded. Cool cars, cool tyres and macho drivers…hahaha

http://www.flickr.com/photos/zoulle/

12. 2point9 on August 16th, 2008 9:45 am
    chics are awesome … oh yeah , the cars too .. hehe
  13. dorifto_gaban on August 17th, 2008 5:06 pm
    spend money for the emcee???Dude,can you be the emcee for drift event???haha,if you can`t…don`t just say man…he was a good emcee on drift event…or maybe you think be the emcee for drift event just like funfair emcee??don`t said if you not the emcee,okay??he`s my sensei…he`s the best emcee in drift event….sorry guys…
  14. dorifuto supporter on August 17th, 2008 11:13 pm
    highly equipped emcees in Malaysia???? <—dude,do they know abt drift scene!!!!????what dorifto_gaban is right…we support d emcee full throttle!!!
  15. mizie on August 18th, 2008 8:44 pm
    its a good comment guys.can make our drift scene growing.
    to olskool&drew1, do u see D1GP Japan before?
  16. Tengku Djan » Blog Archive » Toyo DRIFT Malaysia Series Rd 2 Results on September 19th, 2008 3:19 pm

Got something to say?

Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
The Marketplace - Hottest Automotive Classifieds!
  Engine and Performance   Chassis and Wheels   Exterior and Body
  1. Used 4g93 GSR turbo intake manifold
  2. used EF original engine 1.5
  3. 5/1 used APEXi rsm D1 edition
  4. 5/1 Used APEXi rsm bluescreen
  5. DASTEK UNICHIP VERSION Q selling cheap
  1. Regamaster 15" pcd 100 4 hole
  2. front mirage 2wt brakes for sale..
  3. Used Hi-Lo Coilovers (fully serviced) For Satria/SGTi/Putra/Wira/Waja
  4. Original Enkei OZ Racing 15 X 6 JJ
  5. WTB EVO8 parts
  1. [WTS] L2S front bumper for kancil
  2. EF/SH3 rear bonet + spoiler + civic SE
  3. civic EG6/SR3 rear bodyparts - rare!!!!!!
  4. WTS*fender signal evo/lancer*
  5. Passo taillamp 2007
  Interior and Cockpit   ICE - In Car Entertainment   Cars For Sale
  1. Apexi RSM blue screen for sale
  2. WTS*sun visor evo/lancer*
  3. (wts) myvi 08 facelift manual meter cluster, rare item
  4. (wts) myvi 1st gen meter cluster, rare item
  5. Gen 2 used part for sales
  1. used gen 2 parts for sales
  2. kenwood roof speaker want to sell
  3. Clifford, Alpine, Kicker, Nakamichi, Amerion, Blackmaxx, Pegasus, MTX
  4. Use I.C.E item for sales !!!
  5. Subwoofer carrozzeria,kenwood & american sound
  1. "toyota trueno ae86"
  2. VIP style Champion of the year Cefiro A32 for sale
  3. PROTON SAGA Urgent selling..CHEAP...!!!
  4. HONDA CIVIC SiR EG9 (CONVERTED) DOHC VTEC B20B FOR SALE!
  5. Ke70 dx with ca18 turbo
'(00) 2008 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us