FeaturesHPCSepang International CircuitTrack

HPC Sepang, April ’08

dsc_8421It’s here for a greater good really, not only does it take high speed driving off the streets, HPC gives enthusiast a chance to learn how to drive fast. You see, we always believe in the fact that anyone can drive fast car, but only a few can drive a car fast and this is where HPC comes in. For a couple of hundred bucks, you’re taught how to correctly drive fast, everything from braking point, to apex entry and exit points are discussed as instructors take you out for a drive in your own car. The first couple of laps, they demonstrate, then its a practical examination of what you’ve just been though and if you display a lack of knowledge, they don’t cane you, you just have to live with the fact that you suck as a driver.

dsc_7481

Participants are divided into two separate groups, the morning group and the afternoon group both of which have their ups and downs. Morning drives are always fun especially in Sepang as the sun is not fully out yet but you have to deal with the rising temperature and a large number of people that show up for morning drives. Afternoon drives features a lesser crowd which is a good thing and the temperature is steadily hot now but chances are your track time will be rained on, so both sessions have their ups and downs, we stayed for both sessions, and my personal recommendation would be the afternoon session, lesser cars = more fun. Other than the morning/afternoon separation, participants are further broken up into groups based on skills and experience. So even if you are a beginners beginner, there’s is room for you to test your skills and your vehicles capabilities in an extreme but controlled environment.

dsc_7492

This years event utilized the south circuit of the Sepang International Circuit (shown below) and is a relatively short track but with enough of left and right handers with banks and sweepers to bring out the Schumi in you. The straight saw all the high speed drama but it was in the twisties where tire wear and inexperience really took their toll with drivers spinning out into the direction of oncoming cars, understeering into the gravel, and oversteering into a spin. There was plenty to look out for especially with the amount of track worthy road cars (or is it the other way around?) and Team Malaysia A1GP driver Alex Yong having his share of fun carving up the circuit in a Lotus Exige. Words can only describe so much about an event and pictures can just help you imagine what it was like, being there, now that’s an entirely different story and experience beyond what you can imagine no matter what I tell you. So put your car to the test and improve your deteriorating skills, see you at the next HPC event.

track_south

dsc_8214

dsc_7892

dsc_8164

1. Click HERE for the complete gallery
  2. Part 2 of the GALLERY is here

DSC_7465DSC_7963DSC_8114DSC_7720DSC_8418DSC_8136DSC_7472DSC_8421DSC_8421DSC_7984DSC_8259DSC_8281DSC_7685DSC_7740DSC_8075DSC_7878DSC_7901DSC_7912

E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 22, 2008
Awesome fun..... Although not as well managed as previous HPC events (last year), it was still loads of fun. Some of the staff from HPC needs to learn a some manners though...... There were a few instances where the PA system was used to scream/shout at spectators on the pit wall area with regards to the issue of children below the age of 12.

I'm not blaming anybody..... Children have no place in the pit area of a racing circuit. I firmly believe that, thats why i didn't bring my 2 daughters..... But, they shud have handled it in a different way. Raising your voice like that only shows that the organisers had somewhat lost control and let the crowd get out of hand. It would have been best to announce it in a polite manner and subsequently despatch 2 or 3 track marshals to escort the children away from danger. I say danger coz Alex Yong was driving pretty aggresively in the pit area all morning in that Lotus Exige. It was fun watching him in action...... He must have shredded those tyres to bits......hahaha.......

Quote "What are you trying to prove........" To the dude (i won't mention his name) that said this..... Pls accept my sincere appologies..... You know who you are......
M
  • M
    monkey13
  • Apr 22, 2008
Just want to know, who do others like me know when will this kinda the event or race day take place?
Im really interested as i really support race done on the track instead on the road..
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 22, 2008
Checkout HPC website for event dates http://www.hpcevents.com/
C
thanks for the amazing pics :D
i was driving the blue Putra
B
  • B
    BLaCkHoWLiNG
  • Apr 23, 2008
my say: effie should be banned from track... mauhahaha.

*cabut*
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 23, 2008
wasn't an "on track" issue lar bro.....

more of a carpark area thinggy....... hehehehehe..........

Dude i was talking bout has close relations to the "Chipmunks".....hehehe
A
  • A
  • Apr 23, 2008
nice event, good turnout, very minimal incidents here n there.... wishing all the best to HPC team!

p/s: ban alex yong for speeding in pit lane! heheheh
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 23, 2008
hahaha...... i wasn't the only one who noticed Alex Yong speeding in the pit lane....... He did a lot of BURNOUTS in the pit lane too...... Sooooo close to spectators....... Like the HPC dude said Quote " What if........ What if......... What if......"

My question is ...... What didn't Alex get a warning???
A
  • A
  • Apr 23, 2008
yeah man.. haiz, lucky that we are just ASPIRING racers... else, we oso can speed in the pit lane ma... hehehe

p/s: your rx-8 quite fast aaa... :D
S
  • S
    StormRider
  • Apr 23, 2008
Speed limit in pit-lane is 60km/h, when Alex wheel spin to launch, his speed is less than 60, so no warning lo, hihihi..

Were joining the morning session, good weather, good event.
Looking forward for next HPC track outing :)
H
  • H
    happyeater
  • Apr 24, 2008
driving in the afternoon session is hoootttt....
thinking about water temperature only... harap jgn naik too much.

not bad at all... alot of singaporeans and civics FD ....

editor, please check sentence...
"For a couple of hundred bucks, you’re> though< how to correctly drive fast,"

i think you are trying to say 'you are Taught how to drive fast correctly'
F
  • F
    ftzone
  • Apr 24, 2008
As a newbie in grp 1. i hoped that i could get a good attentive instructor. however i needed to share the instructor with another grp1 driver. thats not all.. i felt that some instructors there were just being there for the free track time. but i also noticed that some instructors are very attentive to their designated group 1 students. kudos to those that are commited into training enthusiast how to race at the tracks properly & sharing their experiences. A little disappointed at my instructor due to lack of time being with him @ the tracks, but i had really good time whacking my car which i was off the track at turn #3.
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 24, 2008
Adam...... i didn't run my Rx8 this time bro..... Clutch almost gone.....Grrrrr....... Will be running it in the upcomming HPC (whenever that is.....)
A
  • A
    AlvinHPC
  • Apr 24, 2008
effie

The person u refering to is ME. No need to hide anything. You did a small stunt in the car park area. If you know HPC, we are always strict on safety especially with children around. U never know, hence i said what if. There was also another incident with a classic mini, that decided to do donuts, and i sent him home after various cautions. HPC will not accept any excuses when it comes to safety of participants and spectators including your cars. Although it looks cool speeding in carpark and doing donut, why not prove your skills and speed on track.

As for your comments about Alex speeding in the pit lane, speed limit is 60kmh. Wheel speeding at pit exit is not a hazard nor is it dangerous to anyone in the tent area whice is about 50meters away. So giving such comments are uncalled for.

Finally as to quoting "Chipmunks" it just shows the level of maturity. Howver on SIC open track days i believe its all hell break lose so maybe donuts and dangerous driving without any respect to others is accepted. But dont quote to an SIC Official.

HPC hopes that participant can learn more from driving on track. Even racers who hv been racing learns new things everytime.
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 24, 2008
who removed my comment???????
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 24, 2008
I thought the box said "speak your mind" ? It took me a while to write that down. Whats up with that?
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 24, 2008
1. I did not speed in the Car Park
2. I support proving ones skills on proper Racing Circuits
3. Alex was indeed reckless in the pits (entry and exit)
4. Chipmunks are adorable characters where Alvin happens to be the leader of the pack and in no way was it meant as an insult
5. Alvin was rude
6. PA system announcements shold have been handled more "Professionally"
7. HPC trackday events are AWESOME despite some funny EGOTISTICAL characters.
8. I already Appologised and will NOT pull a stunt like that again. My misdemeanor pales in comparison to what a certain person did on that day.
9. ZTH admin - pls accept my sincere appologies if i have offended anyone of your close friends that resulted in my comment being "erased".
10. Make love...... Not war........
hi effie, please re-post your comment. it was my fault since we were fiddling with the database earlier on right after alvinhpc's comment. apologies
H
  • H
    happyeater
  • Apr 24, 2008
were u the pasir gudang guy??
i overhead an instructor advicing one driver ..something about "forget about your days at pasir gudang ....!%@&^%#.".. something like that...
H
  • H
    happyeater
  • Apr 24, 2008
*overheard

probably he did some stunt at some corner ... like what most mini's were doing at turn 14.
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 25, 2008
no...... that wasn't me....... I haven't been @ Pasir Gudang Circuit since 1997.....
S
  • S
    simonchangwaimun
  • Apr 25, 2008
So what did you do exactly then if not speeding?

If anything HPC was over lenient with some of the jokers that were there that afternoon (not necessarily referring to u, since don't know what u did)

Alex Yoong was quick but controlled in the pit lane, I certainly didn't feel in danger from him but sure did from the way a few of those minis were driving in pit area. Not to mention it's a pro driver vs. some newbies who obviously didn't even bother to show up to driver briefing.

The PA announcer probably just got frustrated after he got ignored 2-3 times. And how nuts you gotta be to carry a baby and stand at the pit wall?
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 25, 2008
Alvin

Chill dude...... No need to insinuate immaturity. Yeah..... i did a small stunt (donut) in the carpark which i have appologised for. I admit my mistake. But hey, at least i kept my composure. I wasn't the one yelling. Actually.... i kept on smiling as you walked away in a huff. Dude, next time i hope you exercise some discreetion when opening your mouth. They way you approached and the manner in which you did it was as if you wanted to prove something which could easily be misinterpreted as picking a fight. Yea.... we all know you're the chief marshall..... no need to yell. I know who you are in the heirachy of HPC. I respect the power enthrusted to you. Public relations is also an integral part of event management. You can't go around ridiculing people as and when you please.

Why is my comment about Alex reckless driving in the pitlane uncalled for? Its a view that my friend and i share. Its a comment afterall..... you can choose to ignore it if you want. Thats your right. I have a right to voice my own concerns. Not everyone worships him. I enjoy watching him rip it up on the track and certainly he is entertaining to watch. But thats where it ends. You don't need to break the pitlane speed limit to be judged reckless.

Its sad that you view Chipmunks as an insult. If so, then i appologise yet again. Should i also question you maturity? Nope..... i don't think i'd stoop to that level.

As for HPC events...... I have and always will support events like these. Everything is properly controlled as to avoid any untoward incidents. You have done a good job in ensuring that thus far. Kudos to HPC crew.

***note

There was an incident during last year's HPC where one of your instructor (shares your name) "shoved" my younger brother. MAKE SURE INCIDENTS LIKE THAT DON'T HAPPEN AGAIN !!!
OTHERWISE................

~Cheers Mate~
J
  • J
    jaii13
  • Apr 25, 2008
where did I leave my keys?

hey... what's going on here?

/pulls a chair
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 25, 2008
hey jaii..... nice to see uve pulled up a chair.....heeee

I appologised to this dude and he goes and insults me insinuating immaturity and what looks like him being scared Alex Yong reads the comment i made ..... Hmmmmmm..... I seriously don't think Alex would boycott HPC just because of a remark i made..... Bwahahahaha......

Alvin, ive appologised countless times...... Shame on you
B
  • B
    BLaCkHoWLiNG
  • Apr 25, 2008
wei wei wei! very semangat postings! but keep the flames in the exhaust outlets and not here.. and.. err.. umm... err.. WHERE ARE THE CHIC PICS!?!?!?! ... that oughta sizzle things down... but but... VIDEOS?!?! ANYONE GOT VIDEOS?!?! i save all petrol and semangat on the straights ... but NO VIDEOS?!?!...

sob sob

admin: apasai u always accidentally delete wan....
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 25, 2008
as for "Wheel Spinning" a rearwheel drive car shod with soft sticky semi-slick tyres....... A pebble that was previously lodged in said tyre could easily be dislodged and travel at very high velocity towards anyone in the pit area with force enough to take an eye out. I'm sure you're aware of all the "What ifs........"

Notice that "Most" ppl do not do burnouts exiting the pits during Public/Privately organised trackday events as to avoid any possibility of an untoward incident. I don't have to elaborate further...... Just as long as we can avoid the avoidable.....
There were children around all day..........
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 25, 2008
no flames here...... sorry........ i'm guilty of stupid things also.......
B
  • B
    BLaCkHoWLiNG
  • Apr 25, 2008
what's burn out? ...??? is it only for powderful cars?

kekekeke
J
  • J
    jaii13
  • Apr 25, 2008
They sell donuts behind the pit lane? Is it any good??
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 25, 2008
Oh yea...... ZTH...... AWESOME pics!!! Good job...... Mad props to the photographer.........
B
  • B
    BLaCkHoWLiNG
  • Apr 25, 2008
effie: see u in the next hpc
I
  • I
    ILovHPChowpekchai
  • Apr 25, 2008
What is all the fight about! Its a great event, and people should respect what HPC does
A
  • A
  • Apr 25, 2008
hi guys..

i guess enuff of what need to be said re the 'issues' during last sunday's event.. everyone's points have been put accross, very clearly.. can we all just accept whatever incidents that happened with a receptive mind, analyze and plan together to prevent them from recurring..?

i'm sure we are all actually just a passionate bunch of enthusiasts, wanting the exact same thing.. just maybe some things got SLIGHTLY out of hands, from both parties.. let bygones be bygones key? :D

SO, let me kick start on what else do we want to see happening at HPC:

1. babes
2. more babes
3. a bit more babes

hahahha..
B
  • B
    BLaCkHoWLiNG
  • Apr 25, 2008
adam:

i totally disagree with u

d list should be

1. Babes
2. More Babes
3. Lesser fabrics
4. Shorter Skirts
5. Looser Blouse
6. Tighter pants..
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 25, 2008
not forgetting

7. No panties.......
A
  • A
  • Apr 25, 2008
there we go!! :D kudos guys!
J
  • J
    jaii13
  • Apr 25, 2008
"Babes" is defined rather loosely here... Needs to be more specific

Babes- hot (by every definition), sexy, bubbly, sporting, and most importantly EASY.

My job here is done.

/leaves room
F
  • F
    farique
  • Apr 25, 2008
you guys are funny.. haha.. :D

all that matter is babes.. LOL
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 26, 2008
FYI Alvin....... I was on track...... Gp3...... But in a diff car......
E
  • E
    effie
  • Apr 26, 2008
The model with the bigger boobs was a nice distraction..........
A
  • A
    azmi
  • May 6, 2008
Alvin, dont play with effie, heard he is the president of malaysia rx8 club.
A
  • A
  • May 6, 2008
lalalalla.. i heard there'll be an open track day saometimes middle/late may.. lets?!! rx8 can sound quite nice oso aa?

can maybe hitch a ride sometimes? then can trade taxi ride in my lowly e46.. :D
E
  • E
    effie
  • May 10, 2008
Btw.... whens the next HPC..... love the organised atmosphere..... Open trackdays always marred by incidents. The last one saw a 350z wrecked,,,,,OMG.....

Still....... wouldn't wanna miss an open trackday also......

Hahaha Adam.... no such thing as a "lowly" e46..... Why do i get the feeling that ur the owner of that Awesome CSL? Hehehehehe........

Just a guess...... Red highlighted "nick".... Plus its obvious the CSL is part of the ZTH crew..........
E