News

’70s Nissan 240Z Project: Saving the Old Lady?

240z-project

Tony5050, a major performance car nut, once had an Evo4 engine shoehorned into a Hyundai Coupe many years back when people were just starting to buy them. He’s been busy with a different challenge recently.  a 35year old Nissan 240Z which he picked up abandoned by the road -for a price. Not your idea of a Fairlady? With majority of what’s needed sorted, he’s completing the 240Z project really soon. Here are snippets of the Chronicles of Tony’s 240Z.

06-11-2007, 02:36 PM

guys..

she is a 240z and she is now 35 years old..
luckily tht the previous owner stripped her off before leaving her beside the street for blardy 8 years.
here are some photos….

so…she got a new boyfren now hey..!

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h312/tony5050/DSC00689.jpg

and she suppose to look like this in 3 months time…ta da!!

02-19-2008, 03:23 PM

hi guys,

finally confirm wht shoes she will wear when she first done…this is the front and rear..but problem is one pair with chrome lips the other not..can it polish it or something??..need advice..

front 15″ x 9.5jj offset -25

rear 15″ x 11.5jj offset -44

05-04-2008, 01:32 AM

its been ages and finally the body restoration work is almost fully done. The car is now having its outer surface work, ready for paint next week.

Decided to finish her up as a ZG now though.

Will post more a week or 2 from now with the body colour. Thanks

11-20-2008, 04:09 PM

hi guys,

as promised, these are some photos i took last weekend. Finished wiring and now in acc shop for interior. cheers

For more on this go to his Thread Here:

Project ” Saving the Old Lady “

D
  • D
    dohcmivec
  • Nov 28, 2008
omg! tht is some piece of work...
D
  • D
    dohcmivec
  • Nov 28, 2008
how bout those door trims and stuffs? how did u manage to get em?
R
  • R
    razi1018
  • Nov 28, 2008
bro, this project has been done by many people lah bro....... GOoD job!!~ actually this is the best old skool car i've even seen..... they put SR20 or supra engine in it....... hahahah..... good job!!~
B
  • B
    bien335
  • Nov 28, 2008
Fcuk yes man!

You are the shit!
J
  • J
    jiusan
  • Nov 28, 2008
i wanna devote myself to help you save car like this !!!!

do ask if you need any hard labourer ~
K
  • K
    kancilburuk
  • Nov 28, 2008
Wangan Midnight R everybody!!!

to tony5050, congrats for bringing this old lady back to life...u took a lot of effort and hardworking to made your dreams come true..

Kudos to you again...
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Nov 28, 2008
akuma zetto...... それL28エンジンは何ですか?
D
  • D
    deacon
  • Nov 28, 2008
that is freaking wicked! i am so jealous!
N
  • N
    ntsc
  • Nov 28, 2008
Damn.... This is one nice piece of Art!!!!
Is something really can proud of it!!!
Congrat to mr. tony5050!
T
  • T
    tony5050
  • Nov 28, 2008
hi guys,

thanks so much for the supportive words all these while. It has taken just more then 1 year time now. Will post more pics in the forum thread once i have more! cheers.
:)

Tom and other from ZTH,

Thanks a million! :)
B
  • B
    BLANk
  • Nov 28, 2008
thumbs up...olskools ROCK!!!
J
  • J
    jasonboi
  • Nov 28, 2008
Tony,
This is very inspiring for me on how you refurbish the 240z.

Cheers,
Jason
M
  • M
    mickeysew814
  • Nov 28, 2008
PIMP MY RIDE (malaysia edition)?
G
  • G
    gotboost33
  • Nov 28, 2008
That rear wheel offset is SEX!
A
  • A
    AXXeLL
  • Nov 28, 2008
one wicked restoration mate!... but should have sprayed it black...
V
  • V
    VampireX79
  • Nov 28, 2008
man ..... i respect this friend of mine ... LOL .... very happy for you indeed... didn't realised your car is done .. cant wait to sit in man .... i thought you would have done it to the photo you showed me last time... Grey with CF bonnet :)

but ... one last phrase for you .... IT'S BLOODY ACE, MATE !
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Nov 28, 2008
Respect man, doin like the Americans do with their old Muscle car. I wish i had the money to do this type off thing....
H
  • H
    hangerboy
  • Nov 28, 2008
the revival of the great lady....240Z

i want one... =P

congrats tony5050..mayb u can provide a few great advices to restore old cars.. =)
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Nov 29, 2008
50K already spent and work still in progress. Thats the price.. huhuhuhu...real motorhead.

by the way, u always go to BKK, for business or pleasure?
E
  • E
    ephique
  • Nov 29, 2008
Argghhh!!! Nice piece of car! Can i touch it?

Splendid job
S
  • S
    satria1502
  • Nov 29, 2008
finally u didt giveup to rebuilt her..!!! Nice job
H
  • H
    ham
  • Nov 29, 2008
perfect man.....
like a new reborn cars...
H
  • H
    HKS-GT2835R
  • Nov 30, 2008
tony, you the man bro!

looking forward to more pics.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 30, 2008
Man... tony i thought you were going Wangan anime colors? But back to basics off the shelf colors. hahaha. BTW, the wheels.... erm.... are you going to do something about the fit?
A
  • A
    Alan Tan
  • Dec 3, 2008
Nice work mate !!!!! U r a real gentleman who came to rescue a grace 35 years old lady :p .....
S
  • S
    spookie5676
  • Dec 15, 2008
good job tony....saving old lady...work with 'ABI the painter'..<--u do at abi place rite?...everyday i lunch dekat situ i look to u old lady..wallaaaa..cun siot...suddenly when i came again for lunch..the old lady sudah siap n u oledy took back....tony..dia punya bunyi manyak siookkk
A
  • A
    andro
  • Jan 12, 2009
hey..where do u stay..u bought the rod from silibin area workshop right...
im actually from ipoh..do mail me ok or take my number 0165154461
so we can meet up,im also having a 31year old rod...DATSUN 510
J
  • J
    jelodong
  • Feb 18, 2009
dude,cnt wait 2 see the result.any update yet.ltst pic,any?plzzz..good effort anywy..bring up the mmryz
M
  • M
    max
  • Feb 28, 2009
You did a great job, man. The rims are baddd. So do the 5 pcs G-nose kit. I'm working on my 240z. and just wondering where did you purchase those stuffs from.
D
  • D
    Datsunhoneybee
  • Aug 6, 2009
hey~ great job there, i wonder how much u spend on it!
i having a 36yr old datsun210(special ver.)and gonna make him young again~ ^^
J
  • J
    JOM
  • Feb 3, 2010
like。very good,lt's cool
W
  • W
    wakbgs8546
  • May 21, 2010
congratulation bro,,,u was done a good job.i really proud of u,,,actually,i very like this model...how long u spend time to makeover this car n how many cost?where u get the spare part?I Still looking this car for my great car ever..where u get this car?
W
  • W
    wakbgs8546
  • May 22, 2010
i think,u should let the rim's set with the flat black color...its will look like the original 70's 240z...i forgot to ask u about the new engine,what engine model u use for ur "old lady"?
F
  • F
    frankie
  • Aug 20, 2010
hi l own a 240z fairlady here in sabah is in a pretty good original condition , l just wonder where can l get a side view chrone mirrow
M
  • M
    Mr Y
  • Dec 9, 2010
wah liow eh... very very nice... 4 thumbs up dude... how much spend on restore cost... sure well worth it.
H
  • H
    hasny.
  • Sep 25, 2013
do you plan to sell the car? because im looking for datsun 280z right now.
I
  • I
    Ian
  • Nov 2, 2013
Hi Frankie. I know your post was 3 years ago, but wondered if you still had the 240?
J
  • J
    Jen
  • Apr 24, 2017
Is This Lady For Sale??
V
  • V
    Vincent Lim
  • May 21, 2017
hi,

is there anyway i can get Tony's contact?
V